A Plus Fair Corn Dogs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2009
Pretty darn good! I couldn't make these fast enough at my daughter's birthday party. The adults were thrilled with the authentic carnival style dogs. My daughter who is the ultimate critic loved them too but she wouldn't touch one that wasn't perfectly covered. I chilled the mix and brought the dogs to room temp and dried them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2009
This recipe is awesome! I had to cut the hot dogs in half to get them to fit but they were perfect. I still need to find a better stick to fry them. The only change I made was that I didn't use the bacon grease(yet to try when I have some) and I added 2 tablespoons of honey to sweeten it up which really helped(I tried with and without honey with honey being the winner).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2009
We all really liked these! They turned out perfectly! This was the first time we’d ever tried making these and I think they were even better than the ones we get at the fair. For whatever reason it had never occurred to me before to try making these at home, I was so happy to find something different for supper. We added some cream corn to the batter on a whim. It just seemed like a good idea and I was really pleased with the results. It added to the flavour and texture of our corn dogs. Thanks for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2009
Very Good and sooo easy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2009
these are easy enough and the batter makes more than you think. kids liked them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNN39SCAF

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenixville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2009
I doubled the sugar and salt. I did not dredge in flour first but will next time. I used Costco hot dogs and cut in thirds. I am making tomorrow for my son's preschool graduation. They are SO yummy! Better than our fiar Krusty Pups!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2009
A-W-E-S-O-M-E !!! I followed the recipe, didn't change a thing. I took one reviewer's advice and used a tall container and dusted in flour before battering. My family really enjoyed these. We will definitely be making these regularly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TC

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2009
My grandson and I made these. They were very good and nice and crunchy, my only complaint was the hot dog inside was barely warm. I didn't want to leave them in the oil any longer or they would have burned the outer crust. Maybe my oil was too hot ? ? ? I guess next time I'll leave them in longer in less heated oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RAYKATS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Malaga, Washington, USA
Reviewed: May 2, 2009
The best corn dog recipe I've made so far! The breading is fantastic, perfect amount of 'crunch' and thickness and just a touch of sweetness. I followed other's suggestions by letting the hot dogs come to room temperature, cutting them in half and dredging them in flour before dipping them in the batter. I followed the recipe exactly, used a package of four hot dogs and there was plenty of left over batter to do another four. Let the finished dogs sit in the oven heated at 200 degrees. I will definitely make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sweet Lovin'

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
This was an outstanding recipe, I felt like I was 10 again. After looking at numerous recipes I chose this because it had a higher sugar content and I was looking for a sweeter batter, it did not disappoint. I didn't have bacon drippings so I just subbed oil and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 167) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Corn Dogs

See how to make delicious, crunchy corn dogs at home.

Coney Island Hot Dogs

See how to make America’s favorite beefy hot dog condiment.

Jan's Pretzel Dogs

Hot dogs wrapped in homemade pretzels make the perfect party snack.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States