A Number One Egg Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2007
I had to add more sugar and honey. I also had to cook it longer, but it still didn't taste right. I ended up making it into croutons. I will try a different recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2006
I decided to divide the recipie in half and it still made a HUGE loaf! I had to add a little more flour because it was sticking to everything! I used it the next morning for french toast like others suggested and it was great. My only complaint was that it was a little "eggy" for me. Still a great recipie and it looked beautiful! Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: North Bay, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Waterloo, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2006
Looks beautiful, smells delightful, but tastes very bland. Next time, I will add more sugar like others suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2006
This is the best egg bread recipe! Very eggy and sweet- perfect for french toast in the morning! Will make again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ptbssg

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Poulsbo, Washington, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2006
I understand what one reviewer said about it not having a lot of flavor... I'd definitely increase the sugar next time. But, I made the recipe exactly like it's first written and the bread has a beautiful texture. I'm not an experienced bread baker and yet I was incredibly impressed by the professional-quality texture!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pasadena, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2006
Excellent and authentic appearance and taste. Rave reviews every time I've made it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2006
I made this to go with spinach dip and everyone at work loved it. i would recommend doubling the sugar, using just 6 eggs instead of the 3 eggs and 6 yolks, and baking for 20min tops. This is a great recipe that I will be making often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2006
Absolutely fabulous! This was the first time I have ever tried making bread. I read about "proofing" on this site so I did that and I did use my stand mixer with the dough hook. I turned the oven on the lowest temp. then turned it off and let the dough rise in there with the oven door open.I couldn't believe how much the dough had risen the first time. A wonderful aroma will fill your kitchen when baking this bread. When it comes out of the oven all a lovely dark golden brown colour you will be amazed. "A work of art"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cynjne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2006
The texture is ok. But it's WAY too eggy for me. It was cooked in 20 min. I tripled the sugar and still it was just slightly sweet. I don't think anything could overpower all those egg yolks. Bummer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2006
I was looking for a recipe to use up some eggs, and came across this one. This bread came out wonderful and looks and tastes amazing! If you are looking for a more dense challah or egg bread, don't try this recipe. This recipe makes a very light and fluffy loaf. And for those of you who don't like to eat challah plain, try it with whipped cream cheese, it is sooooo good! Thanks for the recipe, it was a good way to use up extra eggs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ali

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Logan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 147) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Braided Easter Egg Bread

Round, braided Easter bread decorated with natural or dyed eggs.

How to Bake Your Sourdough Bread

See how to bake San Francisco-style sourdough bread.

How to Knead Your Sourdough Bread

Turn your sponge into bread dough and give it a good kneading.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States