A Number One Egg Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
Absolutely awesome! Added 1/2 cup honey and made two yummy loaves!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2008
This is a great recipe. When I'm short on eggs I substitute 3 eggs in place of the 6 egg yolks. I also use 1 3/4 t of salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2008
Very simple and delicious. Makes a LOT of bread. It looks very pretty and professional, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2008
Oh my goodness, Kevin... this is the softest and best braid I have ever made. Thank you for sharing the recipe. I made the dough in my bread machine and also took note of comments made by other reviewers. Firstly, I made 1/2 the quantity and baked only 20min (altho next time, I will make two and give away one since baking time is so short), doubled the quantity of sugar and substituted whole eggs for the egg yolks (ie. 6 egg yolks =3 eggs). Because I used whole eggs, I needed a bit more flour. I just added flour bit-by-bit and watched the dough form until I was satisfied with how it looked and felt. Still thought it could do with either a bit more salt or sugar - can't decide which one. Now this is how I've always wanted my braids to turn out but never succeeded. I can imagine this looking great if baked in a loaf tin too or with the addition of raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
This is so delicious! I love it! One note I want to make is that if you try to make this into one loaf, it will probably be gi-normous. I have made this twice and have always halved the recipe (the loaf is still huge!), and a half-recipe will only need 20 minutes in the oven. ( One trick I learned from Alton Brown on an episode of "Good Eats!" is to let the dough rise in a (not turned on)oven with a pan of hot water beneath it. Also, if you've ever had trouble getting the yeast to rise - like myself - make sure you stir the yeast in the sugar-water until it completely dissolves, then let it sit for a couple minutes 'til it gets really foamy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2008
Taste was good, but this was so complicated. Try another recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JenniferD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2008
Something went terribly wrong with this recipe for me. It did not come out like bread dough whatsoever. I dont know what happened.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Coco

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2008
My family loved this bread. My son was just back from hawaii and said it reminded him of bread he had there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2008
I did not care for this recipe. Not at all as eggy as we had hoped. bWe have made much better egg bread than this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Colebrook, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Eileen in IL
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
I'm giving this recipe five stars because its being posted resulted in the best bread I've ever baked. I made the following changes though, per other reviewers' suggestions: I added 1/4 cup of organic honey I used six eggs total (not including the brush on egg) instead of de-yolking and whatnot. I cut the cook time down to about 25 minutes, and I probably went five or so minutes too long. This bread is fabulous for spinach dip, and went miraculously with some butter and Russian Mushroom and Potato soup from this site. Thank you so much for the recipe - the only future change I might make is to bake it in two loaves since it's so enormous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eileen in IL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Henrietta, New York, USA
Living In: Spiro, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 142) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Bake Your Sourdough Bread

See how to bake San Francisco-style sourdough bread.

How to Knead Your Sourdough Bread

Turn your sponge into bread dough and give it a good kneading.

How to Make the Sponge for Homemade Bread

Your sourdough starter is ready. Now it’s time to make the sponge.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States