A Number One Egg Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 1, 2009
I halved the recipe. Used 1/4 cup warm water to proof yeast; added pineapple juice to make required liquid, increased sugar to 1/3 cup, and baked for 25-30 minutes (all ovens vary). As soon as it's cool enough, I have a slice, because it's gone in no time. My family can't get enough of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
I must have done something terribly wrong - came out very gooey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
This recipe was great! I followed the directions exactly, except for the time it took to bake. I baked mine for about 20 min and it turned out perfect! The family loved this bread and it was so easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2009
This bread came out so good. I cut the recipe in half and came out with a huge loaf. I don't know what I would have done if i made the whole thing. (baked in 2 batches?) I did let it rise an extra time, but it was soooooo good. I will defenitly make again. I used this bread in the baked french toast recipe and it's in the oven now yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by greenbabby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Port Richey, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
Absolutely deserves 5 stars! I halved the recipe, added 2 Tbsps. honey for kicks, and sprinkled poppy seeds on top of the egg wash. One added note about this bread - unlike almost every other homemade recipe out there, this one remained acceptably fresh and soft for three days in a large ziploc bag - that's very rare and valuable!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
I halved the recipe and, as other reviewers suggested, just used 3 whole eggs. I also added 1/4 cup of honey. I was not happy with the results--the bread did not rise enough and was crumbly? BUT, since I didn't stick to the original recipe, I didn't think it was fair to ding the rating too much. Just thought I'd warn other cooks to think twice before tweaking the original version too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
This is on of the best recipes I have used. It is so easy and make. the whole recipe will make 2 big loaves. So I. make 1/2 the recipe for just the two of us. The amount of flour depends on the size of the eggs. Also, I use 3 whole eggs and forget the egg yolks. I always buy jumbo eggs so in half the recipe I use almost 3 cups of flour, also I use 1/3 cup sugar. So it is an easy recipe to add your own influence too. No matter what you do, it turnes out delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MommyFromSeattle
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2009
Very moist and tender. I used 1/3 cup sugar for a little sweeter taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommyFromSeattle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bellevue, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2009
A fabulous recipe! I added a 1/4 cup honey but otherwise didn't alter the ingredients. I proofed the yeast with the sugar for about 10 min before adding the rest of the ingredients. I made two loaves from the resulting dough rather than one and let them rise a bit longer than called for during the second rise. They made very normal-sized challah loaves. Beautiful and very delicious. They only needed 20- 25 minutes in the oven. I sprinkled them with kosher salt before baking and they looked great. I think they turned out perfect, and I have tried a wide variety of challah (or egg bread) recipes on this site. Thank you, I have a new go-to recipe for my challah!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by betabear

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
Absolutely awesome! Added 1/2 cup honey and made two yummy loaves!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 141) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Bake Your Sourdough Bread

See how to bake San Francisco-style sourdough bread.

How to Knead Your Sourdough Bread

Turn your sponge into bread dough and give it a good kneading.

How to Make the Sponge for Homemade Bread

Your sourdough starter is ready. Now it’s time to make the sponge.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States