A Number One Egg Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
I followed the recipe to the letter, smoke came out of my oven after 23 minutes, but the middle of the bread was still unbaked, so i let it stay in there the full 40. The outside of the bread is completely burnt, and though the inside is OK, the taste is nothing noteworthy, reminds me of bad grocery store egg bread. Maybe halving the recipe helps, but I doubt it helps the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
not even 2 minutes out of the oven and it's half eaten! Tip, cover bread with foil the last 15 minutes of baking, to prevent over browning, excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dolce Cuoco

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
This recipe actually teeters between 3 stars and four stars. The dough was easy to mix and kneaded well. It took a longer time to complete its first rise. Cooking time also needed to be decreased as well, so keep a sharp eye on your bread. Finished product was pretty, the texture was good, and the flavor was a light sweetness (suprisingly not overly eggy). I personally did not care for the flavor, but my husband and kids liked it. So for me it was only a 3 star, but my hubby and kids gave it 4 stars. This makes a lot of bread (you could actually get two decent sized loaves). I cut the recipe in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
wohoo~ first time ever making bread and I got it right >__
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
Wow! A positively delicious egg bread recipe. It is perfect. I followed it exactly, even though I am that person who will always change something, simply b/c I'd never made egg bread and wanted to get an idea of a basic recipe. This was so incredible! The only thing I did differently was that I made it into two basic loaves, rather than a braid. It makes two good sized loaves that are awesome for toast or sandwiches. Like other reviewers I cooked it for only about 30 minutes rather than 40 and it came out beautiful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sashanna

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
The bread was huge so you'll definitely want to cut this in half. It looked great but, when we went to eat it, we found it be extremely dry. Huge disappointment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jim Davidson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marion, Ohio, USA
Living In: Pickerington, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mellatronspaceranger
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
This bread turned out P E R F E C T !!! better than I'd hoped. Iv been trying different egg bread recipes for a while, and have enjoyed most of the outcomes... But this one... Oh my! It will be hard for me and my boys to not devour it all & wait for my husband to get home.. He's going to be thrilled! ( not to mention proud of me !!yay!! ) - I cut the recipe in half as iv read suggested, using 3 yolks & 2 whole eggs. Then just the left over whites as my wash. Bakes for about 15 minutes? Cooked verrry fast due to how light and fluffy and airy the consistency.. It would have burned had I put on the timer for the recommended time & left it. Be careful. By far, the BEST egg bread yet. Thanks for sharing! BLTs tonight! WOOP!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2011
As an egg bread, very nice. As a Hawaiian bread, not so much. IF you are making this as a Hawaiian bread, add more sugar. I'm thinking of increasing the 1/4 c. of sugar to at least 1 c. I made these as Hawaiian rolls and was able to get 15 nice size rolls in a 9 x 13 glass pan. They rose incredibly well and had a nice flavor, although not quite to the sweetness of Hawaiian. Mine were done after 22 minutes, so 40 minutes at 375 was quite long- a little warning just to check them at the half-way mark. With some tweaking, I think these would make an excellent Hawaiian roll to make sliders, morning egg sandwiches and more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeanne

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
Based on other reviewers, I halved the recipe, and added an extra rise. It was perfectly done at 23 minutes. Maybe the full recipe would have taken longer? It was qiuite yummy. We ate half and froze half for another night. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
I would give this a 5 star, if not for 2 corrections I had to make. Upon reading the reviews, I decided to make 2 loaves out of this recipe instead of one. Which I was very thankful for, because it made 2 14 inch long loaves. Crazy! Secondly, I only had to cook it for 20 minutes instead of 45 and it was a dark, golden brown. Other than that, absolutely delicious. The people who said this is gross simply can't cook bread worth a hoot or don't know what 'egg' bread is. YUM! I'm putting this recipe away for later use!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 141) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Bake Your Sourdough Bread

See how to bake San Francisco-style sourdough bread.

How to Knead Your Sourdough Bread

Turn your sponge into bread dough and give it a good kneading.

How to Make the Sponge for Homemade Bread

Your sourdough starter is ready. Now it’s time to make the sponge.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States