A Number One Egg Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2005
Wow Kevin! Loved this version of Challah very much. Only change I made was subbing honey for the sugar. I made two loaves out of the dough; one of which I gave as part of a Christmas gift. So pretty and glossy! Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2005
I make thanksgiving dinner rolls out of this recipe and everyone loved them i have been asked to make these again for christmas thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2005
Imade this recipe for one loaf again this week I added 2 TBS extra sugar with slight improvement in taste. Used 2 1/2 cups flour instead of 2 1/4 as recommended. Found consistency of bread much better. This time bread rose to nearly 4". If you cook for 40 minuetes as directed you will probably end up with charcoal at 375 degrees. Found 25 -26 minutes adequate for one loaf.Note: there are inconsistencies in recommended amounts of eggs and flour in recipe. This should be corrected. Bread very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hixson, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2005
This bread is beautiful to look at and tastes good, especially when I used it in the Baked French Toast recipe on this site. CAVEATS: I did double the sugar. I bake in a 24-inch oven (smaller than traditional) and at 22 minutes in was running to the oven to discover a very dark loaf that was already smelling done. I covered it to stop more browning and let it finish it's time. I'm a lazy baker and a dough this sticky was very hard on my mixer, so next time, I may try kneading by hand. But it is super-light and makes a great braid, and my kids loved it as regular toast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2005
This bread is phenomenal, and the aroma while it's rising and baking was more wonderful than you could imagine. And yes, it does bake up to be one enormous loaf, but for Thanksgiving, I'm going to make it into individual rolls. I have the feeling they're going to be the hit of the gathering. Try this recipe...you won't go wrong! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2005
This was easy and delicious! The bread was great on its own, and even better as French toast the next morning. I doubled the sugar because I like my egg bread sweet, and it was just right. I halved the recipe and made one loaf. A word of caution when making one loaf, I only cooked it for 30 minutes and I think it would have been better after 20-25 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2005
This bread is delicious, bar none. It made two HUGE 9x5s
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HELLODJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2005
I made this for a scrapbooking party and just made 2 round loaves. After they were finished baking & cooled, I sliced 1/4 of the tops off and hollowed them out. Then I cut the insides into chuncks, filled the "bowl" with spinach dip, arranged bread chunks around the bowl and, "Viola!" It was a fantastic treat! I also used this recipe to make "soup bowls" with cream of broccoli & cheese soup and everyone's plate was empty and I swear licked clean! (children too)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsWifey/Mommy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Guelph, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Duluth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2005
This was a great egg bread dough. I wrapped it around some smoked sausages (like pigs in a blanket) we've eaten them for breakfast, lunch, and dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Salem, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2005
Oh my gosh! When I opened the oven it was a Lucy moment! This bread rises so high. It is wonderful, light, I was afraid it would fill the entire oven. Wouldn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LynCocks

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 147) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Braided Easter Egg Bread

Round, braided Easter bread decorated with natural or dyed eggs.

How to Bake Your Sourdough Bread

See how to bake San Francisco-style sourdough bread.

How to Knead Your Sourdough Bread

Turn your sponge into bread dough and give it a good kneading.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States