A Number One Egg Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2005
This bread is delicious, bar none. It made two HUGE 9x5s
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HELLODJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2005
I made this for a scrapbooking party and just made 2 round loaves. After they were finished baking & cooled, I sliced 1/4 of the tops off and hollowed them out. Then I cut the insides into chuncks, filled the "bowl" with spinach dip, arranged bread chunks around the bowl and, "Viola!" It was a fantastic treat! I also used this recipe to make "soup bowls" with cream of broccoli & cheese soup and everyone's plate was empty and I swear licked clean! (children too)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsWifey/Mommy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Guelph, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Duluth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2005
This was a great egg bread dough. I wrapped it around some smoked sausages (like pigs in a blanket) we've eaten them for breakfast, lunch, and dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Salem, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2005
Oh my gosh! When I opened the oven it was a Lucy moment! This bread rises so high. It is wonderful, light, I was afraid it would fill the entire oven. Wouldn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LynCocks

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2005
This has become a family favorite. I make the dough in my bread machine under the dough cycle and the bread is always excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2005
This bread takes a while to make but it is SOOOOO worth the effort. It's relatively easy and very impressive looking. Fantastic with fondue...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2005
This recipe is outstanding. The loaf came out very, very light (very close to king's Hawiian bread) and huge. If you are experimenting with this recipe, I suggest you half it. My loaf, using the complete recipe, came out to be 5" high, 7" wide and the length of the cookie sheet. Mind you, it is so light I didn't mind at all. I did double the sugar to 1/2 cup. I think I could have used even more. I've searched and tried many challah recipes. This is by far the best. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2004
This bread is totally unediable on it's own, I was so disappointed when I tried it fresh out of the oven that I did not even serve it. Since I hated to see so many ingredients go to waste I decided to make bread pudding and it was delicious, so I'd recommend you use it to bake with but not to eat plain.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MELLYGIRL23
Home Town: Sultan, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2004
This was my first attempt at making bread, so it's possible this was my fault. However, it seemed to come out okay, but I didn't like the flavor and it was annoying using so many eggs for one recipie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2004
I have to say this is the BIGGEST loaf I've ever baked. I also would make it into 2 smaller loaves next time, unless you're doing it for a party... it certainly looks IMPRESSIVE as one giant loaf. And with the egg wash- it's just so pretty. Be careful with the time in the oven. Mine only took about 30 minutes. Check it with a thermometer. A loaf like this should read between 200-210 degrees when it's done. Don't overcook it. It is very light. The only change I would make to the recipe is adding just a tad more salt and maybe 1/3 cup sugar instead of a 1/4 cup (but I DO like my bread a little sweeter). It is the lightest textured loaf ever, just melts on your tongue. Would definitely make it again. But if you're looking for the rich tasting challah bread that you used to get in the bakery, this isn't it. It is in a class by itself, but not a substitute for traditional challah. Excellent for french toast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happycamper26

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Bonita Springs, Florida, USA

Displaying results 91-100 (of 141) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Bake Your Sourdough Bread

See how to bake San Francisco-style sourdough bread.

How to Knead Your Sourdough Bread

Turn your sponge into bread dough and give it a good kneading.

How to Make the Sponge for Homemade Bread

Your sourdough starter is ready. Now it’s time to make the sponge.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States