A-Number-1 Banana Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 28, 2015
My husband, who won't eat bananas, LOVES this cake. This recipe always impresses my company. I love it as is, or with semi sweet chocolate chips in it. I've also baked it with an added tsp. of vanilla. So great. I frost it with cream cheese frosting. It tastes even better the next day. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend making this absolutely delicious cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by extracheeseplease

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2015
I don't know what's wrong with me compared with the other reviewers, but I was disappointed in this cake. I detected a definite bitter taste. With all the delicious ingredients in the cake, I'm thinking it must be the baking soda that I taste. I've never baked a cake that called for so much baking soda. It's unlikely that I will make this cake again. If I do, I will try cutting the baking soda to one teaspoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2015
Delicious, moist cake. The best banana cake I have ever baked or tasted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Hawthorne, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2015
Add ground flax seed for a nutty flavor. Top with a cream cheese frosting. This is a nice cake to take to a potluck, picnic or enjoy as an afternoon snack. -Paula Akbari
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula Akbari

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2015
Excellent cake. Made buttermilk with vinegar and used 3 bananas and was perfect and moist
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sadie Van Roie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2015
A great way to use ripe bananas. Loved it. A nice dense cake. I made a dark chocolate frosting that went very well with it for chocolate lovers. Used the recipe on Hersey's dark cocoa box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2015
I have made this recipe several times. Each time it has been a winner for my family and my teenager's friends. I've tried it with both buttermilk and sour cream, and both are delicious. I'll have to try it with yogurt next time. I skip the frosting every time. The cake is moist and delicious without it. I find that I need to increase the cooking time by about 10 mins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2015
Made this the first time by the recipe, except added a little cinnamon. Didn't need frosting. This time, used coconut oil instead of butter, Splenda instead of white sugar (still used the brown) and almond milk with apple cider vinegar instead of buttermilk, baked in a 9x13 pan. Turned out great, again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2015
easy to bAkE , ALl mykids loved it but it may be a bit sweet . you can add cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2015
Made this cake today because I could not find my recipe. It was very moist, tender and flavorful. Couple of suggestions - when your bananas get too ripe but them in the freezer. When you have enough frozen bananas to bake, defrost them in a bowl on the counter. Simply squeeze the bananas into a clean bowl, (discard any liquid from the defrosted bananas) and mash them as directed. Also, if you do not have buttermilk in the fridge, add 1 tbs white vinegar or lemon juice to milk to "create" a sour milk which can be substituted for the buttermilk. Sour cream. or 1/2 sour cream and 1/2 milk can also be substituted. I have also learned, after many years of baking banana cakes, that you can increase the amount of bananas in the cake, which makes the cakes moister and more flavorful. Happy Baking:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 680) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

A-Number-1 Banana Cake

Watch how to make this easy and fast banana cake.

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States