A-Number-1 Banana Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
I have made this banana cake numerous times. I usually double it and make one to freeze so I always have one for whatever occasion comes up. Rave reviews! I top it with the whipped cream cheese frosting on this site. Amazing! I do leave out the walnuts as we have food allergies in the family. Never miss them because this cake is so awesome all by itself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
I made this recipe twice and the first time I figured I used too many bananas so the second time I used less bananas still it was caved in and not baking in the middle and anything I've ever baked this hasn't happened to me so I'm not sure maybe the bananas were too big I'm not sure but I like a lot of banana flavor and in another banana recipe I used the same amount if bananas and the outcome was no where near wet or mushy I'm afraid to try it again but they do say third times a charm I don't want to use two bananas maybe I'll add more baking soda not sure but I see no point in banana cake if it doesn't taste like banana and won't bake through the middle
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
Wish I could give this recipe more stars! I literally just finished my first piece of this cake. It was very moist, very flavorful--not very sweet but just the right sweetness with a great banana flavor that is not overwhelming. I am adding this to my regular rotation of recipes. Thank you so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
The best banana anything recipe I've ever tried! I made it in a 9x13 pan, using the milk/vinegar version of buttermilk, and 2 large bananas. I can't believe how much I like this! Had to pin this as well are recipe box it, so I'm sure to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meegan Iverson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2014
Perfecto! This is the best banana cake I've made. I've tried about 10 different recipes for this in the last five years. I top it off with a lemon/coconut cream frosting (I'll put the recipe in circulation)and I've been complimented at every function to which I've taken it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Craig D

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hummelstown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2014
I love this recipe! It's my favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
I just made this recipe with my kindergarten class. The only thing I changed was using all white sugar. Only because we didn't have any brown sugar. The kids loved them as muffins. No need for powdered sugar or frosting. I wouldn't dream of substituting anything for the buttermilk! I love the flavor. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2014
Awesome! wouldnt change anything in it except to reduce from 4 to 3 medium sized bananas
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
This is by far the best banana cake ever. Very moist. I tweeked it a bit. Baked at 350 for 40 mins. Added raisins and walnuts, cinnamon and a pinch of nutmeg. Perfect. Ftosted with my very own cream cheese frosting. Awesome cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Laingsburg, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
Delicious! Topped it with burnt butter frosting...fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRSKJS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 658) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

A-Number-1 Banana Cake

Watch how to make this easy and fast banana cake.

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States