A-Number-1 Banana Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2015
Made this the first time by the recipe, except added a little cinnamon. Didn't need frosting. This time, used coconut oil instead of butter, Splenda instead of white sugar (still used the brown) and almond milk with apple cider vinegar instead of buttermilk, baked in a 9x13 pan. Turned out great, again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2015
easy to bAkE , ALl mykids loved it but it may be a bit sweet . you can add cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2015
Made this cake today because I could not find my recipe. It was very moist, tender and flavorful. Couple of suggestions - when your bananas get too ripe but them in the freezer. When you have enough frozen bananas to bake, defrost them in a bowl on the counter. Simply squeeze the bananas into a clean bowl, (discard any liquid from the defrosted bananas) and mash them as directed. Also, if you do not have buttermilk in the fridge, add 1 tbs white vinegar or lemon juice to milk to "create" a sour milk which can be substituted for the buttermilk. Sour cream. or 1/2 sour cream and 1/2 milk can also be substituted. I have also learned, after many years of baking banana cakes, that you can increase the amount of bananas in the cake, which makes the cakes moister and more flavorful. Happy Baking:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2015
Great recipe. Took about 45min on a 13X9 pan. Second time around i made it with gluten Free flour and it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy Deleon

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
I made this exactly by ingredients, BUT I like spices, so I added a teaspoon of each ground cloves.ground allspice, ground cinnamon. Very good cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
The best banana cake recipe! I made it with caramel icing and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vikkidickey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brazoria, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2014
I just made this cake tonight for the first time. I followed the recipe exactly. I had bought buttermilk to make "Creamed Corn Corn Bread" and had a little less than 1 cup left over. Perfect for this recipe. I did combine everything a little different though...the lazy way...lol. I don't think it hurt the results though. I have a Ninja. First I combined the dry ingrediets in a large bowl and set aside. I added the sugar and butter to the Ninja and pulsed a few times. Broke two eggs in...pulsed until incorporated. Added broken up bananas...a few short bursts of pulsing to mix everything well. It was really hard not to add vanilla but I wanted to stay true. Next I poured the wet ingredients into the dry ingredients, mixed together, and dumped it in a greased 9 X 13 Pyrex baking dish and baked as directed. It turned out great. This is a keeper. No vanilla....just follow the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
I have used this recipe for all 8 birthday parties for my boys over the last 4 years. It's a big hit and sooooo good with cream cheese frosting. I make it as cupcakes. I don't plan on making anything different unless and until the boys ask for something different. The texture is so nice and moist. I hate dry cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2014
I make this all the time…muffins, loafs, cakes…recently I've had to avoid dairy since two of my children have become lactose intolerant…I substituted the butter with coconut oil and used coconut milk soured with vinegar instead of buttermilk…I've even used coconut sugar in place of the brown…they love it even more! so nice and moist! Surrey, BC
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
Recipe was good and quick to make. Don't be afraid to reduce the sugar some. I went with 3/4 cup white sugar and 1/2 cup brown sugar and we thought it was plenty sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westerville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 673) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

A-Number-1 Banana Cake

Watch how to make this easy and fast banana cake.

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States