A-Number-1 Banana Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2012
I was disappointed after reading these other reviews, as this did NOT make a cake. This would make a divine banana bread, though. I used real butter, sour cream instead of buttermilk as suggested in the reviews (we were out), and all 4 large bananas. The batter was so thick! To thin, I added 3 TBSP of cream and maybe should have added more. The crumb was too heavy for a cake, but I'll try this one again with cake flour and buttermilk. It is an excellent banana bread! We frosted it with the Banana Nut Frosting on here, without nuts. It's a great combination! Next time, I'm going to add a tab bit of rum...yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2012
loved this recipe and so did the family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
Very moist. Perfect recipe for muffins. This one's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2012
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Passion4food

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: May 24, 2012
I had to change with another items and still was great cake. brown sugar - sugar w/ vanilla, clove buttermilk - soy milk no walnuts
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2012
This was moist and excellent. I only had whole wheat flour on hand and sour cream, so I made the substitution for the flour and buttermilk. Yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gingerbreadgirlz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2012
I baked it in a 9 x 13 pan since I don't have cake pans. It was prob around 35 mins in the oven and was nicely browned and bounced back when touched. [lost my toothpicks] I cut it before it was cool and found a top layer not cooked....just batter. I was surprised since it seemed perfectly baked to me. Banana cakes are funny that way, I guess...I'll try it again and hope for better results. If I had left it in much longer, it would have been too overcooked on the bottom and top.[the taste is great!]
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2012
Absolutely EXCELLENT. I have tried numerous recipes for banana bread through the years and finally decided banana cake was perhaps the way to go because banana bread in a loaf pan never seems to bake completely through. This recipe is not only baked through but moist and delicious. Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2012
I just made these, as cupcakes instead of the 8" cakes. They took about 16 minutes to bake. I could have probably filled 26 cupcake papers but squeezed it into 24....some have very large tops! They are definitely not even close to the density of a banana bread, they are moist, light and fluffy with almost no crumb. I will certainly make these again. I am planning to make a yogurt frosting to top them for a snack at my daughter's preschool.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
We loved this cake so moist and flavorful. We used coconut pecan frosting. Thanks for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elko, Nevada, USA
Living In: Cheney, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 659) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

A-Number-1 Banana Cake

Watch how to make this easy and fast banana cake.

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States