A-Number-1 Banana Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
The best banana cake recipe! I made it with caramel icing and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vikkidickey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brazoria, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2014
I just made this cake tonight for the first time. I followed the recipe exactly. I had bought buttermilk to make "Creamed Corn Corn Bread" and had a little less than 1 cup left over. Perfect for this recipe. I did combine everything a little different though...the lazy way...lol. I don't think it hurt the results though. I have a Ninja. First I combined the dry ingrediets in a large bowl and set aside. I added the sugar and butter to the Ninja and pulsed a few times. Broke two eggs in...pulsed until incorporated. Added broken up bananas...a few short bursts of pulsing to mix everything well. It was really hard not to add vanilla but I wanted to stay true. Next I poured the wet ingredients into the dry ingredients, mixed together, and dumped it in a greased 9 X 13 Pyrex baking dish and baked as directed. It turned out great. This is a keeper. No vanilla....just follow the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
I have used this recipe for all 8 birthday parties for my boys over the last 4 years. It's a big hit and sooooo good with cream cheese frosting. I make it as cupcakes. I don't plan on making anything different unless and until the boys ask for something different. The texture is so nice and moist. I hate dry cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2014
I make this all the time…muffins, loafs, cakes…recently I've had to avoid dairy since two of my children have become lactose intolerant…I substituted the butter with coconut oil and used coconut milk soured with vinegar instead of buttermilk…I've even used coconut sugar in place of the brown…they love it even more! so nice and moist! Surrey, BC
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
Recipe was good and quick to make. Don't be afraid to reduce the sugar some. I went with 3/4 cup white sugar and 1/2 cup brown sugar and we thought it was plenty sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westerville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
I substituted the buttermilk with sour cream and it was a great hit with the friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kerry Hacker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
This reciepe is perfect without any changes. You can add chocolate chips or nuts if you wanted yet I like it just the way it is. One thing I did do a couple times is frost it with peanut butter frosting or a peanut butter glaze. It just added to how wonderful it really was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2014
This turned out to be a tasty cake. I'll make it again. I made it as cupcakes exactly as recipe is printed. Moist & flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindypray

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
I have made this banana cake numerous times. I usually double it and make one to freeze so I always have one for whatever occasion comes up. Rave reviews! I top it with the whipped cream cheese frosting on this site. Amazing! I do leave out the walnuts as we have food allergies in the family. Never miss them because this cake is so awesome all by itself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
I made this recipe twice and the first time I figured I used too many bananas so the second time I used less bananas still it was caved in and not baking in the middle and anything I've ever baked this hasn't happened to me so I'm not sure maybe the bananas were too big I'm not sure but I like a lot of banana flavor and in another banana recipe I used the same amount if bananas and the outcome was no where near wet or mushy I'm afraid to try it again but they do say third times a charm I don't want to use two bananas maybe I'll add more baking soda not sure but I see no point in banana cake if it doesn't taste like banana and won't bake through the middle
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 667) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

A-Number-1 Banana Cake

Watch how to make this easy and fast banana cake.

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States