A-Number-1 Banana Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2015
House smells good with this in the oven. I half the recipe and put 3 bananas instead of 2. Will frost with cream cheese icing. I haven't tried it yet but will tonight after supper! Update: Cake was delicious with cream cheese icing. I'm sure it'll be just as lovely if not better with chocolate icing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2015
The best ever!! Sop here! No need to look further for the best tasting banana bread or muffin. Add nuts or not, add chocolat chips or not, It's delicious no matter how you decide to eat it and super moist!! A family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hannah Dumaine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Hyacinthe, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sugarplum
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2015
I substituted mini chocolate chips in place of the walnuts and baked these in muffin tins for about 20 minutes. I topped these off with peanut butter frosting recipe from this site and sprinkled some chocolate chips on top. Super yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sugarplum

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 28, 2015
My husband, who won't eat bananas, LOVES this cake. This recipe always impresses my company. I love it as is, or with semi sweet chocolate chips in it. I've also baked it with an added tsp. of vanilla. So great. I frost it with cream cheese frosting. It tastes even better the next day. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend making this absolutely delicious cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by extracheeseplease

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2015
I don't know what's wrong with me compared with the other reviewers, but I was disappointed in this cake. I detected a definite bitter taste. With all the delicious ingredients in the cake, I'm thinking it must be the baking soda that I taste. I've never baked a cake that called for so much baking soda. It's unlikely that I will make this cake again. If I do, I will try cutting the baking soda to one teaspoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2015
Delicious, moist cake. The best banana cake I have ever baked or tasted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Hawthorne, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2015
Add ground flax seed for a nutty flavor. Top with a cream cheese frosting. This is a nice cake to take to a potluck, picnic or enjoy as an afternoon snack. -Paula Akbari
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula Akbari

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2015
Excellent cake. Made buttermilk with vinegar and used 3 bananas and was perfect and moist
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sadie Van Roie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2015
A great way to use ripe bananas. Loved it. A nice dense cake. I made a dark chocolate frosting that went very well with it for chocolate lovers. Used the recipe on Hersey's dark cocoa box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2015
I have made this recipe several times. Each time it has been a winner for my family and my teenager's friends. I've tried it with both buttermilk and sour cream, and both are delicious. I'll have to try it with yogurt next time. I skip the frosting every time. The cake is moist and delicious without it. I find that I need to increase the cooking time by about 10 mins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 683) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

A-Number-1 Banana Cake

Watch how to make this easy and fast banana cake.

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States