A-Number-1 Banana Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2003
Great! I used a 9x13 pan and it was done in exactly 30 minutes. Although I did use 4 bananas, they were very small. I'd recommend only 3 bananas if they are big. No need to frost--it's moist and sweet enough as it is. I love banana bread but often find it dry. This cake solves that problem!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
609 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2003
Amazing!!! I used sour cream instead of the buttermilk and it was so moist and tasted wonderful. I also used a chocolate frosting on it that is almost identicle to the "creamy chocolate frosting" on this site. The cake and frosting complimented eachother perfectly. In the middle i sliced fresh banana's and also used sliced banana's to create a flower pattern on the top. Not only did it look beautiful but it tasted amazing. Next time...instead of 8 inch pans i would prefer to use 9 or 10 so that there is not so much cake between the frosting layers. This recipe was superb though. No need to search for other banana recipes. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
487 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2003
REally nice and easy to bAkE , ALl my friends loved it but it may be a bit sweet . you can substitute the buttermilk with the equal amt of milk and a tsp of vinegar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
379 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2010
While the submitter suggests this recipe can also be used to make banana bread or muffins, I found this to be not as dense or compact a crumb as banana bread. In other words, I happily found this to be a real banana cake, not banana bread posing as one. I am a huge fan of baked goods made with buttermilk - in my experience I've yet to make a recipe where the buttermilk didn't absolutely guarantee moist and delicious success. And it was the same with this recipe. Bold banana flavor, fluffy, moist, and prettily speckled with brown flecks that made this perfect to frost with a chocolate frosting. I used this recipe for 24 cupcakes and frosted them with "Chocolate Cream Cheese Frosting," also from this site. It was a match made in heaven - they were one of those rare things you make that was so good, so delicious, it becomes etched in your memory. One criticism, however. It would be helpful to have given an actual measurement in cups for the bananas, rather than "four bananas," since bananas can vary greatly in size and so, then, will the yield. (I hope it's helpful that I've always found 1 banana=1/2 cup mashed bananas is a good rule of thumb)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
302 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2001
Using this recipe for banana BREAD would be great - pretty perfect as is (I like that the recipe calls for butter vs. oil - bravo!) For a banana CAKE, however, I think a more tender, soft texture is in order. To accomplish this, I substituted cake flour in place of all-purpose flour. And you just gotta have vanilla extract in a cake; I added 1 teaspoon. And, dependent on the size of the bananas you've got, "4 ripe bananas" can yield anywhere from 1 cup to 1 1/2 cups of the stuff. My 4 bananas amounted to 1 1/3 cups and this quantity worked fine. I frosted the cake with a cream cheese frosting and pressed the walnuts onto the sides of the cake. It cut beautifully and my guests (and I) loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
158 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hackettstown, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2007
We had a potluck for someones birthday at work and she wanted a banana cake which I have never made or never eaten?! So I had no idea what to do since I am known as the cake maker in the office. I found this recipe and it was so yummy!!! I didn't change one thing except I did put crushed walnuts on top of the icing and used 5 bananas.TIP: My Mother-In-Law told me that if you have bananas that are really really ripe and you can't make anything out of them at the time you can freeze them and use them later for bread or whatever. So last summer I had frozen some and thought I would try them in this cake. It worked perfectly a little mushy to get in the bowl and you want to watch the strings on the bananas and get them off before you smoosh them. This cake got RAVE reviews and the girl loved her birthday cake! Thanks for another great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
149 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2003
I substituted milk choco chips for the walnuts, and baked it in a buundt pan. Just sprinkle with 10X sugar. So yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
116 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2002
I absolutely LOVE THIS RECIPE!!!! I made it in a 9x13-inch pan and substituted whipping cream for the buttermilk (I didn't have any buttermilk or vingegar to make my own) and it turned out heavenly. I just can't say enough about how good this recipe is! Thank you so much Kevin for sharing it with us!! I'm off to have another piece...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tomato75

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: North Richland Hills, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2005
This is absolutely the best banana cake I have ever made/tasted. Wow! It was very moist and had a lot of banana flavor. It seems like such a simple recipe by the ingredients, but it sure does make an impressive tasting cake. This will be a family favorite for years to come. Thanks for sharing. UPDATE: I'm still making this cake and getting RAVE reviews. One group of people thought it was a bakery bought cake. I also like to use the whipped cream cheese frosting on this site which is out of this world with this divine cake recipe. Wow!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
82 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Hustisford, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2002
I baked in 9x13 pan (took 40-45 minutes) and served as snack cake. The family loved it! It would make good dessert cake, too, by adding frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 667) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

A-Number-1 Banana Cake

Watch how to make this easy and fast banana cake.

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States