A-Number-1 Banana Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
Perfect! I wouldn't change a thing. Its moist and fluffy and has a very wholesome flavour. Personally, I only used 1/2 a cup of sugar and i found it just sweet enough. I also used plain yogurt instead of buttermilk and it worked just fine. Love this recipe, will use again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Monkey_Pie

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
Awesome. Add in vanilla bean paste and top with cinnamon cream cheese frosting. Left out the walnuts but sprinkled some on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
I just made this cake, worried 1 Tbsp of soda was a type o I but I used it anyway. The changes I made was I didn't add brown sugar,because I didn't have any. Used 1 cup of white only. I also added cinnamon, vanilla, and pecans.Very good cake good topped it with home made creme fresh,hubby are 2 pieces. Made in 9x13 pans for 30 min
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2012
I used sour cream instead of buttermilk and added a heaping tsp of cinnamon and a heaping tsp of vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
Added dried blueberries, sugar substitute for both brown and white splenda, 1/2 whole wheat and white flour and light margarine, 13x9 pan
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
Very nice. Moist, but not heavy. Will be my goto banana cake in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PieKid

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Delta, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
Delicious, moist, soft. I stuck to the recipe. Baked this in an 8x10 pan. I loved this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathie62

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
I made 16 cupcakes and they were nice and light and tasted good, if a little sweet. But they were completely flat on top and tended to run into each other. Is this how they're supposed to come out?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
A very easy recipe producing an excellent soft, moist cake. I usually add some spices (mixed spices or just cinnamon), sometimes reduce the flour by 1/4 and replace with ground almonds or hazelnuts (and reduce the butter as there is oil in the nuts), and don't include so much sugar as the bananas are very sweet. I use reduced fat milk if I don't have buttermilk. I decorate it with some whole half walnuts. It's one of those recipes for which you can ring the changes according to taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
I used kefir instead of buttermilk and it turned out just delicious! Also used chocolate chips instead of nuts. Having the first piece right now while it's still warm. It is delicious, and one for the 'keeper' file!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth Stone Strachan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upland, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 659) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

A-Number-1 Banana Cake

Watch how to make this easy and fast banana cake.

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States