A-Number-1 Banana Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2012
This was moist and excellent. I only had whole wheat flour on hand and sour cream, so I made the substitution for the flour and buttermilk. Yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gingerbreadgirlz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2012
I baked it in a 9 x 13 pan since I don't have cake pans. It was prob around 35 mins in the oven and was nicely browned and bounced back when touched. [lost my toothpicks] I cut it before it was cool and found a top layer not cooked....just batter. I was surprised since it seemed perfectly baked to me. Banana cakes are funny that way, I guess...I'll try it again and hope for better results. If I had left it in much longer, it would have been too overcooked on the bottom and top.[the taste is great!]
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2012
Absolutely EXCELLENT. I have tried numerous recipes for banana bread through the years and finally decided banana cake was perhaps the way to go because banana bread in a loaf pan never seems to bake completely through. This recipe is not only baked through but moist and delicious. Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2012
I just made these, as cupcakes instead of the 8" cakes. They took about 16 minutes to bake. I could have probably filled 26 cupcake papers but squeezed it into 24....some have very large tops! They are definitely not even close to the density of a banana bread, they are moist, light and fluffy with almost no crumb. I will certainly make these again. I am planning to make a yogurt frosting to top them for a snack at my daughter's preschool.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
We loved this cake so moist and flavorful. We used coconut pecan frosting. Thanks for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elko, Nevada, USA
Living In: Cheney, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
Perfect! I wouldn't change a thing. Its moist and fluffy and has a very wholesome flavour. Personally, I only used 1/2 a cup of sugar and i found it just sweet enough. I also used plain yogurt instead of buttermilk and it worked just fine. Love this recipe, will use again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Monkey_Pie

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
Awesome. Add in vanilla bean paste and top with cinnamon cream cheese frosting. Left out the walnuts but sprinkled some on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
I just made this cake, worried 1 Tbsp of soda was a type o I but I used it anyway. The changes I made was I didn't add brown sugar,because I didn't have any. Used 1 cup of white only. I also added cinnamon, vanilla, and pecans.Very good cake good topped it with home made creme fresh,hubby are 2 pieces. Made in 9x13 pans for 30 min
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2012
I used sour cream instead of buttermilk and added a heaping tsp of cinnamon and a heaping tsp of vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
Added dried blueberries, sugar substitute for both brown and white splenda, 1/2 whole wheat and white flour and light margarine, 13x9 pan
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 665) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

A-Number-1 Banana Cake

Watch how to make this easy and fast banana cake.

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States