A-Number-1 Banana Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
This has been a family favorite for years! I've made it as a layer cake, a sheet cake, cupcakes, loaves. It doesn't matter - it is moist, sweet and delicious every time. Sometimes we don't even frost it, it is wonderful on it's own but cream cheese frosting really adds something special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn Bilyeu

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
Great Banana cake I topped it with creamy peanut butter frosting everyone loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2012
Added black walnuts - fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kathryn450

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2012
OMG - this is SO good! Hate to think how many calories are in it with the butter and sugar, but it's worth it. A little bit goes a long way - so cut your pieces small! I topped this with a buttercream icing flavored with lemon - delicious! Easy to prepare too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
I have made this recipe exactly as written and it has turned out moist and rich every time… very delicious. I do add a fourth banana if they are small. I get lots of requests for this cake and usually make a layer cake with a cream cheese icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2012
Really good. I've made twice so far, once as 9x13 with sour cream frosting. Next as bundt cake with chocolate chips. Easy and moist as promised.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2012
My 9x13 took 40 min. Not too sweet. We put a thin glaze on top. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Lakeland, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
This was okay. Of course, the taste depends so much on the bananas and perhaps mine weren't as flavorful as some. But, I wasn't as blown away as others seemed to be. The cake was moist and good, but I didn't find it to be as wonderful as proclaimed by so many reviewers. I did add 1 t. of vanilla, but followed the rest of the recipe as written. I will definitely make it again, but will tinker with some spices and the sugar amounts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Abington, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lilburn, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
Really nice. I used a milk/vinegar sub for the buttermilk and used raisins in place of walnuts. Only used 3 small ripe bananas it still came out very tasty. Didn't use any icing as the cake is more than sweet enough on it's own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
The cake turned out very nice and a nice texture. I had to bake it for 40 minutes though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by henrytowns

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 673) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

A-Number-1 Banana Cake

Watch how to make this easy and fast banana cake.

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States