A-Number-1 Banana Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2012
SO great! I used nonfat greek yogurt in place of the buttermilk, added some chocolate chips, so cinnamon, and some vanilla.... de-lish! ~oh, and cooked in a 9x13 pan for about 30 minutes. loved this for using up some bananas hiding in the back of the freezer ~I think I may try shredded zuchinni next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2012
Good, not great - of the 17 recipes I've tried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2012
I was disappointed after reading these other reviews, as this did NOT make a cake. This would make a divine banana bread, though. I used real butter, sour cream instead of buttermilk as suggested in the reviews (we were out), and all 4 large bananas. The batter was so thick! To thin, I added 3 TBSP of cream and maybe should have added more. The crumb was too heavy for a cake, but I'll try this one again with cake flour and buttermilk. It is an excellent banana bread! We frosted it with the Banana Nut Frosting on here, without nuts. It's a great combination! Next time, I'm going to add a tab bit of rum...yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2012
loved this recipe and so did the family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
Very moist. Perfect recipe for muffins. This one's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2012
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Passion4food

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: May 24, 2012
I had to change with another items and still was great cake. brown sugar - sugar w/ vanilla, clove buttermilk - soy milk no walnuts
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2012
This was moist and excellent. I only had whole wheat flour on hand and sour cream, so I made the substitution for the flour and buttermilk. Yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gingerbreadgirlz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2012
I baked it in a 9 x 13 pan since I don't have cake pans. It was prob around 35 mins in the oven and was nicely browned and bounced back when touched. [lost my toothpicks] I cut it before it was cool and found a top layer not cooked....just batter. I was surprised since it seemed perfectly baked to me. Banana cakes are funny that way, I guess...I'll try it again and hope for better results. If I had left it in much longer, it would have been too overcooked on the bottom and top.[the taste is great!]
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2012
Absolutely EXCELLENT. I have tried numerous recipes for banana bread through the years and finally decided banana cake was perhaps the way to go because banana bread in a loaf pan never seems to bake completely through. This recipe is not only baked through but moist and delicious. Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 662) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

A-Number-1 Banana Cake

Watch how to make this easy and fast banana cake.

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States