A-Number-1 Banana Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2013
Love this recipe. I add 3 eggs, subtitute buttermilk with plain youghurt and only 1 teaspoon baking powder. Turn out moist and sweet enough. Ty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2013
I thought this was just ok. I made them into muffins. They were quite light. I have a recipe that I normally use, but thought I'd try something new and found this one. I think I will stick with my old recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2013
Awesome!!!!!! Yummyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2013
Best banana cake recipe ever. I think the secret is not to skimp on the bananas. I used sour cream instead of buttermilk. I baked it in a bunt pan and iced it with coconut pecan icing. Everyone raved about it. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2013
I made this for the first time yesterday and layered it with cream cheese icing (frosting). Using five very old mushy bananas I surprised myself and our baby girls who insisted on licking the bowl, spoons and everything else it came in contact with (a good sign they liked the mixture). The finished product was a hit, it was light and moist and the cream cheese icing gave it that extra delicious component to the cake. For a beginner cook, this recipe is easy, quick and and hassle free. Icing certainly gives the cake that extra wow fact but not necessary. PS: Instead of walnuts, I added raisins, chocolate chips and chopped almonds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Upper Hutt, Wellington, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2013
I tried, tested & tasted this recipe. Never have I gone wrong with this one!the first time I baked it or the n'th time I bakes it. Followed the directions to the T, and the result is lip smackilicious :) I made it for our Teacher's appreciation b'fast & there were no crumbs left even :) thank you for this recipe, keep baking & keep positing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2013
I don't even bother with banana bread anymore. This is my go to recipe when we have a hankering for something banana. I use 4 bananas, a little banana flavoring, and pure vanilla. 9X13 pan, 35 mins. have also substituted 2/3c sour cream in place of buttermilk. Both ways are great! I usually frost with cream cheese frosting, but used chocolate this time. WONDERFUL!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cruella

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Charlotte, Florida, USA
Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2013
A bit dense for cake, but still satisfied my craving. Used 1/4 cup less white sugar because I don't like when it's too sweet. Iced with cream cheese frosting it's delish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
I have used this recipe several times and absolutely love it! It is the only one I use. Thank you so much Kevin for sharing it with us all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
I baked this in a 10x14 pan. It should have baked more quickly, but after a full 30 minutes the middle was still completely mushy. It didn't bake. I tasted an edge and it was insanely sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama_B

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 683) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

A-Number-1 Banana Cake

Watch how to make this easy and fast banana cake.

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States