A-Number-1 Banana Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
I just made this recipe with my kindergarten class. The only thing I changed was using all white sugar. Only because we didn't have any brown sugar. The kids loved them as muffins. No need for powdered sugar or frosting. I wouldn't dream of substituting anything for the buttermilk! I love the flavor. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2014
Awesome! wouldnt change anything in it except to reduce from 4 to 3 medium sized bananas
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
This is by far the best banana cake ever. Very moist. I tweeked it a bit. Baked at 350 for 40 mins. Added raisins and walnuts, cinnamon and a pinch of nutmeg. Perfect. Ftosted with my very own cream cheese frosting. Awesome cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Laingsburg, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
Delicious! Topped it with burnt butter frosting...fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRSKJS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
This is my usual go to banana recipe. I just tried this exact recipe with AVOCADO INSTEAD OF BANANAS AND IT WORKS WONDERS!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
Awesome, my first attempt and it turned out great! I substituted Sour Cream for Butter milk and used a bunt cake pan. Wife and kids loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lockport, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
I added cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sugar Land, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
I'll make this again, for sure. I used all whole wheat pastry flour because I was out of all-purpose, and it still came out wonderful. I added 2 teaspoons to 2% milk instead of buttermilk; used 3 ripe bananas, and omitted the nuts. I frosted it with Cream Cheese Frosting with Brown Butter and Bourbon from this site. Love the combination!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by somethyme

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
Excellent cake, my soon to be 7 year old has asked for this to be his birthday cake this year!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bluebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2013
I made it exactly according to the recipe. It was wonderful. Initially I thought that 1 tablespoon of soda was too much, but I did it anyway and all was fine. Perhaps the denseness of the banana batter needs more leavening. The walnuts truly complement the banana flavor. Will make this again (and again). Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OhioKEE

Displaying results 31-40 (of 683) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

A-Number-1 Banana Cake

Watch how to make this easy and fast banana cake.

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States