A-Number-1 Banana Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
I have used this recipe several times and absolutely love it! It is the only one I use. Thank you so much Kevin for sharing it with us all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
I baked this in a 10x14 pan. It should have baked more quickly, but after a full 30 minutes the middle was still completely mushy. It didn't bake. I tasted an edge and it was insanely sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama_B

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2013
I halved the recipe, and the only change I made was using 3T butter, 1 T unsweetened applesauce. I may try substituting a little more applesauce next time, because the texture was still absolutely fine. I baked it for 40 minutes in a square 9X9 pan, and lightly frosted it with cream cheese frosting. My husband and I both loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
I tried this receipe which came out very tasty. I made a few changes because as usual i didn't have all the exact ingriedents so i improvised. First I used 100% whole wheat flour, then i used two med to lg size bananas and added a snack size portion of applesauce, then i used 2% lowfat milk instead of buttermilk, and i baked it in a 13x9 x 2 1/2 in. Glass baking dish and baked it for about 35 min. Making sure to put toothpick in to ck it at 25 min.and found it needed about 10 more minutes for a total of 35 min. As us bakers know ovens do vary so i always set timer for less minutes and ck then add time if needed. Then i spread cream cheese frosting over a piece and enjoyed it totally. Thanks for sharing this cake receipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2013
I didn't have buttermilk so I used milk with half a teaspoon of vinegar. And added some chocolate chips too! The cake turned out fluffy, moist and delicious! Goes great with a cup of hot tea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
Awesome cake! Used the Chocolate cream cheese frosting recipe as suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by likestobake

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
Wow! Actual banana cake, not bread. Light & tender cake. Our cake wasn't too sweet, even though the bananas were way past overripe. I used a 9x13" pan, baked for 30 minutes, frosted with cinnamon cream cheese frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RueBarbe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
I loved this recipe. It is simple (especially since I used self-rising flour in a pinch), delicious and came out just as promised. I'm trying it again today with cream cheese frosting. Moist, banana-y and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
I cut the sugar to 2/3 and used about 1/3 whole wheat flour. After that it was excellent, and much more to my family's taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
So delicious and moist!! Definitively a keeper!! I even used self rising flour instead of all purpose and got great results. Its worth to try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning


Displaying results 31-40 (of 665) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

A-Number-1 Banana Cake

Watch how to make this easy and fast banana cake.

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States