A-Number-1 Banana Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2013
I don't even bother with banana bread anymore. This is my go to recipe when we have a hankering for something banana. I use 4 bananas, a little banana flavoring, and pure vanilla. 9X13 pan, 35 mins. have also substituted 2/3c sour cream in place of buttermilk. Both ways are great! I usually frost with cream cheese frosting, but used chocolate this time. WONDERFUL!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cruella

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Charlotte, Florida, USA
Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2013
A bit dense for cake, but still satisfied my craving. Used 1/4 cup less white sugar because I don't like when it's too sweet. Iced with cream cheese frosting it's delish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
I have used this recipe several times and absolutely love it! It is the only one I use. Thank you so much Kevin for sharing it with us all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
I baked this in a 10x14 pan. It should have baked more quickly, but after a full 30 minutes the middle was still completely mushy. It didn't bake. I tasted an edge and it was insanely sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama_B

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2013
I halved the recipe, and the only change I made was using 3T butter, 1 T unsweetened applesauce. I may try substituting a little more applesauce next time, because the texture was still absolutely fine. I baked it for 40 minutes in a square 9X9 pan, and lightly frosted it with cream cheese frosting. My husband and I both loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
I tried this receipe which came out very tasty. I made a few changes because as usual i didn't have all the exact ingriedents so i improvised. First I used 100% whole wheat flour, then i used two med to lg size bananas and added a snack size portion of applesauce, then i used 2% lowfat milk instead of buttermilk, and i baked it in a 13x9 x 2 1/2 in. Glass baking dish and baked it for about 35 min. Making sure to put toothpick in to ck it at 25 min.and found it needed about 10 more minutes for a total of 35 min. As us bakers know ovens do vary so i always set timer for less minutes and ck then add time if needed. Then i spread cream cheese frosting over a piece and enjoyed it totally. Thanks for sharing this cake receipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2013
I didn't have buttermilk so I used milk with half a teaspoon of vinegar. And added some chocolate chips too! The cake turned out fluffy, moist and delicious! Goes great with a cup of hot tea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
Awesome cake! Used the Chocolate cream cheese frosting recipe as suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by likestobake

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
Wow! Actual banana cake, not bread. Light & tender cake. Our cake wasn't too sweet, even though the bananas were way past overripe. I used a 9x13" pan, baked for 30 minutes, frosted with cinnamon cream cheese frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RueBarbe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
I loved this recipe. It is simple (especially since I used self-rising flour in a pinch), delicious and came out just as promised. I'm trying it again today with cream cheese frosting. Moist, banana-y and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 667) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

A-Number-1 Banana Cake

Watch how to make this easy and fast banana cake.

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States