A-Number-1 Banana Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
I added cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
I'll make this again, for sure. I used all whole wheat pastry flour because I was out of all-purpose, and it still came out wonderful. I added 2 teaspoons to 2% milk instead of buttermilk; used 3 ripe bananas, and omitted the nuts. I frosted it with Cream Cheese Frosting with Brown Butter and Bourbon from this site. Love the combination!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by somethyme

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
Excellent cake, my soon to be 7 year old has asked for this to be his birthday cake this year!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bluebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2013
I made it exactly according to the recipe. It was wonderful. Initially I thought that 1 tablespoon of soda was too much, but I did it anyway and all was fine. Perhaps the denseness of the banana batter needs more leavening. The walnuts truly complement the banana flavor. Will make this again (and again). Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OhioKEE
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2013
Love this recipe. I add 3 eggs, subtitute buttermilk with plain youghurt and only 1 teaspoon baking powder. Turn out moist and sweet enough. Ty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2013
I thought this was just ok. I made them into muffins. They were quite light. I have a recipe that I normally use, but thought I'd try something new and found this one. I think I will stick with my old recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2013
Awesome!!!!!! Yummyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2013
Best banana cake recipe ever. I think the secret is not to skimp on the bananas. I used sour cream instead of buttermilk. I baked it in a bunt pan and iced it with coconut pecan icing. Everyone raved about it. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2013
I made this for the first time yesterday and layered it with cream cheese icing (frosting). Using five very old mushy bananas I surprised myself and our baby girls who insisted on licking the bowl, spoons and everything else it came in contact with (a good sign they liked the mixture). The finished product was a hit, it was light and moist and the cream cheese icing gave it that extra delicious component to the cake. For a beginner cook, this recipe is easy, quick and and hassle free. Icing certainly gives the cake that extra wow fact but not necessary. PS: Instead of walnuts, I added raisins, chocolate chips and chopped almonds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Upper Hutt, Wellington, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2013
I tried, tested & tasted this recipe. Never have I gone wrong with this one!the first time I baked it or the n'th time I bakes it. Followed the directions to the T, and the result is lip smackilicious :) I made it for our Teacher's appreciation b'fast & there were no crumbs left even :) thank you for this recipe, keep baking & keep positing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 656) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

A-Number-1 Banana Cake

Watch how to make this easy and fast banana cake.

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States