A-Number-1 Banana Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 12, 2015
A great way to use ripe bananas. Loved it. A nice dense cake. I made a dark chocolate frosting that went very well with it for chocolate lovers. Used the recipe on Hersey's dark cocoa box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2015
I have made this recipe several times. Each time it has been a winner for my family and my teenager's friends. I've tried it with both buttermilk and sour cream, and both are delicious. I'll have to try it with yogurt next time. I skip the frosting every time. The cake is moist and delicious without it. I find that I need to increase the cooking time by about 10 mins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2015
Made this the first time by the recipe, except added a little cinnamon. Didn't need frosting. This time, used coconut oil instead of butter, Splenda instead of white sugar (still used the brown) and almond milk with apple cider vinegar instead of buttermilk, baked in a 9x13 pan. Turned out great, again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2015
easy to bAkE , ALl mykids loved it but it may be a bit sweet . you can add cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2015
Made this cake today because I could not find my recipe. It was very moist, tender and flavorful. Couple of suggestions - when your bananas get too ripe but them in the freezer. When you have enough frozen bananas to bake, defrost them in a bowl on the counter. Simply squeeze the bananas into a clean bowl, (discard any liquid from the defrosted bananas) and mash them as directed. Also, if you do not have buttermilk in the fridge, add 1 tbs white vinegar or lemon juice to milk to "create" a sour milk which can be substituted for the buttermilk. Sour cream. or 1/2 sour cream and 1/2 milk can also be substituted. I have also learned, after many years of baking banana cakes, that you can increase the amount of bananas in the cake, which makes the cakes moister and more flavorful. Happy Baking:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2015
Great recipe. Took about 45min on a 13X9 pan. Second time around i made it with gluten Free flour and it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
I made this exactly by ingredients, BUT I like spices, so I added a teaspoon of each ground cloves.ground allspice, ground cinnamon. Very good cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
The best banana cake recipe! I made it with caramel icing and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vikkidickey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brazoria, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2014
I just made this cake tonight for the first time. I followed the recipe exactly. I had bought buttermilk to make "Creamed Corn Corn Bread" and had a little less than 1 cup left over. Perfect for this recipe. I did combine everything a little different though...the lazy way...lol. I don't think it hurt the results though. I have a Ninja. First I combined the dry ingrediets in a large bowl and set aside. I added the sugar and butter to the Ninja and pulsed a few times. Broke two eggs in...pulsed until incorporated. Added broken up bananas...a few short bursts of pulsing to mix everything well. It was really hard not to add vanilla but I wanted to stay true. Next I poured the wet ingredients into the dry ingredients, mixed together, and dumped it in a greased 9 X 13 Pyrex baking dish and baked as directed. It turned out great. This is a keeper. No vanilla....just follow the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
I have used this recipe for all 8 birthday parties for my boys over the last 4 years. It's a big hit and sooooo good with cream cheese frosting. I make it as cupcakes. I don't plan on making anything different unless and until the boys ask for something different. The texture is so nice and moist. I hate dry cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 685) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

A-Number-1 Banana Cake

Watch how to make this easy and fast banana cake.

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States