A-Number-1 Banana Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
YUMMY!!! This was delicious! I added chocolate chips instead of the nuts, cooked it in a bundt pan (+/- 45 minutes) and topped it with chocolate cream cheese frosting (8oz cream cheese, 1/4 cup butter, 4 cups powdered sugar and 1/2 cup cocoa powder). Thanks for the great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
Greetings from Athens, Greece! Outstanding recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anthony

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
I baked this exactly as the recipe called except I only had salted butter and it was perfect! I made it into a 3 layer cake using the whipped cream-cream cheese frosting and took it to my in-laws for dinner and everyone just LOVED it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
Made pretty and tasty cupcakes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
I made this the other day and I must agree it was a really nice banana cake. The only quibble I might have with this is it was a tad on the sweet side for me and I LIKE sweet things so ... in the future I am going to reduce the white sugar in this to 3/4 cup instead of 1 cup. I did use buttermilk but I would also hazard a guess that this would be equally tasty and moist if you used cream or even milk ... maybe even plain greek yogurt instead. I used 4 very ripe bananas and I also added vanilla cause imo every cake can benefit from vanilla :) Instead of white all purpose flour I used stone ground whole grain whole wheat cake and pastry flour and it made a very light fluffy moist end product. So the short of it is .. I did make this recipe as listed with the exception of the vanilla and flour but in the future I will make the modifications I mentioned to take this from a 4 star which I think it is worth as written, to a 5 star adjusted for my personal tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Comox, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
This worked amazing! I had some banana's that were going off so I used what I had at home. I used 2% milk instead of buttermilk and baking powder as opposed to soda and it tasted wonderful. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
Fantastically light cake-can be eaten 'as-like' or I top with cream cheese frosting. MMMM.. I do use 4 bananas; whether they are large or small; it doesn't matter.. they just have to be RIPE.. oh,.. and I use sour cream to replace the buttermilk.. just too much sour cream on hand! ;0)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washago, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Freedom, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
Good very moist, the texture is great! I used 2 cups of smashed bananas, which is just right. Added a bit of jamaican pepper which is my top subs. for cinammon. I am taking 1 star out for being way tooooo sweet. Will reduce the white sugar to 1/2 cup and add to 1 Tbs of salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
8 BILLION STARS!!!! I made this for the staff at one of my favourite bars and they all went ape(no pun intended) for this. I didn't get a chance to eat it but they all said it was the best thing I ever made for them. Gonna have to cheat on my diet and try this one myself :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VAWineaux

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hampton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
I follwed the directions exactly, and this is the best banana cake I've ever eaten!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 661) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

A-Number-1 Banana Cake

Watch how to make this easy and fast banana cake.

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States