A-Number-1 Banana Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: May 1, 2011
Really good, will make again. My very picky son asked for more. I used chocolate chips instead of nuts and would do this again as it was really good. We did not frost this-found no need to. Great way to use up those old bannanas. I think I like this version better than banana bread and it was very easy to make. I am not a great baker and found this easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
Yum! Made this last week for a bday celebration. Delish! Pretty much followed the recipe, but added a tsp of vanilla to the bananas, and added a few shakes of cinnamon in the flour mixture. Did this mostly to tie together the frosting since I knew I wanted the cinnamon cream cheese frosting with it. Did the whole thing for 40 minutes in a Bunt pan, let it rest about 15 minutes and then turned it out -- it came out perfectly! It was moist and wonderful. Loved by everyone. Making it again today for Easter dessert tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TENSMOM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
I wouldn't consider this a cake. I would consider it banana bread with frosting. It was pretty good. I did alter it by doing half wheat flour and half white flour, 2 egg whites and 1 whole egg, and added 1 tsp vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
Very tasty and moist. I will try again. I was really surprised at 1 tablespoon of baking soda, but I followed the recipe except, as many before me, substituted sour cream for buttermilk plus added 1 teaspoon lemon extract and 1/4 cup of milk. Baked it at 350 in 9x13 glass pan. It took about another 20 minutes to cook and the top was brown, sides over done with the middle seeming not quite done. The middle sagged after cooling. I am sure this is because of the amount of baking soda. Never seen that much in a cake recipe. Next time I will reduce the soda and add some baking powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
YUMMY!!! This was delicious! I added chocolate chips instead of the nuts, cooked it in a bundt pan (+/- 45 minutes) and topped it with chocolate cream cheese frosting (8oz cream cheese, 1/4 cup butter, 4 cups powdered sugar and 1/2 cup cocoa powder). Thanks for the great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
Greetings from Athens, Greece! Outstanding recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anthony

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
I baked this exactly as the recipe called except I only had salted butter and it was perfect! I made it into a 3 layer cake using the whipped cream-cream cheese frosting and took it to my in-laws for dinner and everyone just LOVED it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
Made pretty and tasty cupcakes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
I made this the other day and I must agree it was a really nice banana cake. The only quibble I might have with this is it was a tad on the sweet side for me and I LIKE sweet things so ... in the future I am going to reduce the white sugar in this to 3/4 cup instead of 1 cup. I did use buttermilk but I would also hazard a guess that this would be equally tasty and moist if you used cream or even milk ... maybe even plain greek yogurt instead. I used 4 very ripe bananas and I also added vanilla cause imo every cake can benefit from vanilla :) Instead of white all purpose flour I used stone ground whole grain whole wheat cake and pastry flour and it made a very light fluffy moist end product. So the short of it is .. I did make this recipe as listed with the exception of the vanilla and flour but in the future I will make the modifications I mentioned to take this from a 4 star which I think it is worth as written, to a 5 star adjusted for my personal tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Comox, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
This worked amazing! I had some banana's that were going off so I used what I had at home. I used 2% milk instead of buttermilk and baking powder as opposed to soda and it tasted wonderful. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 665) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey Day Recipes
Top Turkey Day Recipes

So many classic recipes to please your pilgrims.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

A-Number-1 Banana Cake

Watch how to make this easy and fast banana cake.

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States