A Nice Slow-Cooked Pork Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2006
This recipe was great (after a few changes)! I followed previous suggestions and cut down the liquid significantly. I used ¾ c vegetable broth and ¼ c sherry and had TONS of liquid. Threw in a few carrots and served over mashed potatoes. My husband called this melt-in-your-mouth-pork. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2004
This is the best pork roast I've ever had. Moist and flavorful. I think that next time I might add less broth and sherry and more vegetables like carrots and green beans because the vegies were so good! Thanks for the great recipe, and my family thanks you, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2004
Wanted to add that I've made this with pork shoulder ribs as well - but both those and the roast should be boneless (at least that's what I prefer). Whatever cut of pork you chose, make sure they aren't TOO lean (very lean meats will come out tough when slow-cooked). We often add a lot more mushrooms just because we like them so much. If I don't have pearl onions, I use frozen chopped white onions, it's all good. My husband is always requesting this. As a previous poster mentioned, there is a good amount of extra liquid/gravy (we like it that way). But keep that in mind - if you don't want much, drop the amount of broth and sherry by half. Or you can thicken it to make more of a stew. Whatever you feel like, ya know? :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chandler, Arizona, USA
Living In: Redmond, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2006
I changed this recipe to use what I had around the house. I don't remember what cut of roast I used, but it was just under two pounds. I used 1.5 cups of water with 2 cubes of chicken bouillon in it. I omitted the sherry and potatoes (we ran out of spuds a couple days ago!), used 1/2 an onion (diced), a can of sliced mushrooms, 2 carrots (chopped into big pieces), 2 stalks of celery (diced), and then I added a little thyme and Italian seasoning. After maybe four hours, I added half a package of brown gravy mix, and then half an hour before I served it I added some cornstarch slurry to make it thicker and almost gravy-like to serve over pasta. To me, it NEEDED salt! I salted it a little in the pot, and that helped a lot. It was pretty good, and reheated fine. Thanks, Lori, for a great base recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Duckball

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2004
This was awesome! I used Pork loin instead and replaced the pearl onions with a sliced yellow onion. Potatoes wouldn't even come close to fitting in my smaller sized crock pot so I served the pork and very tasty gravey over mashed potatoes. This is the best pork slow cooker recipe I have ever tried - will serve again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2004
This was the best pork roast ever. Everyone chowed down and my husband was looking forward to leftovers, but the pot was empty. Will definately make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2004
I'm not a big roast fan, but my husband is, so I made this, knowing that it was right up his alley. Well, he absolutely RAVED about it. The pork was melt in your mouth, the potatoes were cooked perfectly tender, and the mushrooms and pearl onions were nice complements. Next time, I might even go a bit overboard and take some of the juices and make a bit of gravy to go with the pork for a very traditional Sunday dinner. Add some rolls and presto~ the perfect meal. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2004
We loved this recipe, even though I didn't have room in the crockpot for the potatoes. It turned out with more liquid than expected, probably because I left out the potatoes. We poured the leftovers over noodles and ate it as soup. Will try it next time with the potatoes, or add barley for a heartier soup. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2004
Delicious. I've never cooked shoulder before and this is definitely the way to do it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MELCOLVARD

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2006
I bought a whole hog about a couple of months ago and used this recipe a few times. Let me say, it's worth the litte effort of preperation for a great meal. I fed many family and friends with no complaints. Thank You
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Pork Chops II

See how to make tasty, tender chops slowly cooked in a flavorful sauce.

Pork Chops for the Slow Cooker

Making these pork chops is so easy, you won’t believe how rich they taste.

Crispy Pork Carnitas

See how to make tender, tasty, crispy carnitas for tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States