A Nice Slow-Cooked Pork Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2006
i thought this was good. The meat came out very tender and moist, but my husband thought the rosemary was to overpowering and not enough flavors came out from the other ingredients. Thanks for sharing though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Glen Carbon, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2006
This recipe was great (after a few changes)! I followed previous suggestions and cut down the liquid significantly. I used ¾ c vegetable broth and ¼ c sherry and had TONS of liquid. Threw in a few carrots and served over mashed potatoes. My husband called this melt-in-your-mouth-pork. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2006
I changed this recipe to use what I had around the house. I don't remember what cut of roast I used, but it was just under two pounds. I used 1.5 cups of water with 2 cubes of chicken bouillon in it. I omitted the sherry and potatoes (we ran out of spuds a couple days ago!), used 1/2 an onion (diced), a can of sliced mushrooms, 2 carrots (chopped into big pieces), 2 stalks of celery (diced), and then I added a little thyme and Italian seasoning. After maybe four hours, I added half a package of brown gravy mix, and then half an hour before I served it I added some cornstarch slurry to make it thicker and almost gravy-like to serve over pasta. To me, it NEEDED salt! I salted it a little in the pot, and that helped a lot. It was pretty good, and reheated fine. Thanks, Lori, for a great base recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Duckball

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2005
This was the most tender pork I have ever had in a crockpot - very good. I didn't use sherry, used 1 can (2 cups)fat free chicken broth instead of the quart of veg broth, added 2 cloves garlic chopped, and sprinkled 1/2 package of dry onion soup mix on it. Next time I'll add a thickener to make a real gravy and cut back the liquid to 1 cup total.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2005
Very tender, I enjoyed it. I used sliced onions, about half the sherry, and a little less broth than called for. It still had a lot of liquid, but I'll keep that in mind for next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2005
Almost like a cajun done it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Slidell, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2005
This recipe was really good. My family enjoyed it. I used chicken broth which gave it more flavor and I had to add quite a bit of garlic salt. I did not use the sherry (I didn't have any) and it was still good. I did think, however, the dish turned out to be more like a soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2005
First I would like to say the pork was excellent! Super tender. But I think the recipe called for too much liquid. Lori did note that you could cut back. I think I would use half next time so that at the end you could make more of a gravy rather than having it like a soup. Then it would be more like a pot roast. Yummy! It would be great with mashed potatoes. I'm not much for the pearl onions. My husband called them "onion balls". Sliced or chopped onions would work. I have never made a pork shoulder roast and this was great. Thanks for another great pork recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: La Grange Park, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2004
How big do they make crock pot's? I couldnt fit any spud's in mine either. I thought that the extra sauce/gravy could use some thickining. I used some corn starch added to the gravy and tossed it on some smashed potatoes. The flavor in the pork was faint. With only BBQ and this one in the arcives for shoulder I'm not sure if I'll use this one again. Lot's of extra sauce... -Big Jesse
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BIG JESSE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brownsville, Vermont, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2004
Delicious. I've never cooked shoulder before and this is definitely the way to do it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MELCOLVARD

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Pork Chops II

See how to make tasty, tender chops slowly cooked in a flavorful sauce.

Pork Chops for the Slow Cooker

Making these pork chops is so easy, you won’t believe how rich they taste.

Bourbon-Mango Pulled Pork

Mangos star in this spicy, smoky, slightly sweet slow-cooker pulled pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States