A Nice Slow-Cooked Pork Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2006
Very tender, fall apart pork. I used 2 cans of chicken broth instead of the vegetable broth, and just a splash of sherry. It was still really liquid-y, so I thickened it to make a gravy. The meat was so tender it literally fell apart, so I shredded it. I served it over egg noodles, which I think was a mistake. If I make it again, I'll probably skip thickening the sauce, and then serve it with rice instead of egg noodles. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cardamum

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2006
This is sooo tender, it falls apart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2006
I bought a whole hog about a couple of months ago and used this recipe a few times. Let me say, it's worth the litte effort of preperation for a great meal. I fed many family and friends with no complaints. Thank You
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2006
This was a very easy meal to prepare however I thought that it could have used more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Townshend, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2006
i thought this was good. The meat came out very tender and moist, but my husband thought the rosemary was to overpowering and not enough flavors came out from the other ingredients. Thanks for sharing though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Glen Carbon, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2006
This recipe was great (after a few changes)! I followed previous suggestions and cut down the liquid significantly. I used ¾ c vegetable broth and ¼ c sherry and had TONS of liquid. Threw in a few carrots and served over mashed potatoes. My husband called this melt-in-your-mouth-pork. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2006
I changed this recipe to use what I had around the house. I don't remember what cut of roast I used, but it was just under two pounds. I used 1.5 cups of water with 2 cubes of chicken bouillon in it. I omitted the sherry and potatoes (we ran out of spuds a couple days ago!), used 1/2 an onion (diced), a can of sliced mushrooms, 2 carrots (chopped into big pieces), 2 stalks of celery (diced), and then I added a little thyme and Italian seasoning. After maybe four hours, I added half a package of brown gravy mix, and then half an hour before I served it I added some cornstarch slurry to make it thicker and almost gravy-like to serve over pasta. To me, it NEEDED salt! I salted it a little in the pot, and that helped a lot. It was pretty good, and reheated fine. Thanks, Lori, for a great base recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Duckball

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2005
This was the most tender pork I have ever had in a crockpot - very good. I didn't use sherry, used 1 can (2 cups)fat free chicken broth instead of the quart of veg broth, added 2 cloves garlic chopped, and sprinkled 1/2 package of dry onion soup mix on it. Next time I'll add a thickener to make a real gravy and cut back the liquid to 1 cup total.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2005
Very tender, I enjoyed it. I used sliced onions, about half the sherry, and a little less broth than called for. It still had a lot of liquid, but I'll keep that in mind for next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2005
Almost like a cajun done it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Slidell, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Pork Chops II

See how to make tasty, tender chops slowly cooked in a flavorful sauce.

Pork Chops for the Slow Cooker

Making these pork chops is so easy, you won’t believe how rich they taste.

Crispy Pork Carnitas

See how to make tender, tasty, crispy carnitas for tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States