A Nice Slow-Cooked Pork Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2006
This recipe was okay. The pork was greasier than I expected. The potatoes and boiler onions came out very yummy and savory. I made bbq pork melted sandwiches with the leftover pork: definitely recommended: saute some onions & a good bbq sauce: pile onto hearty bread & melt stovetop for a superyummy sandwich. The recipe calls for too much liquid in my opinion, yet it was very moist and flavorful. Eye appeal? Not so much. Savory & hot & melty? Definitely. All around? Pretty Good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mabcat
Home Town: Moscow, Idaho, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2006
This was so easy and so yummy. I didn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eli3leg

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Peachtree City, Georgia, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2006
Good, I have made it several times. The sherry was a bit to overpowering for my family's taste, I used chicken broth instead and then used the leftovers for pulled pork BBQ the nest day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by singlemomcooking

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rock Falls, Illinois, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2006
Very tender. I would use less rosemary and more veggies. But easy and tasty. Great leftovers, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DELANIA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cocoa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2006
Wow, this roast is excellent. I made this for dinner, and my picky 7 year old devoured it! I was asked by him to please make it again sometime SOOON!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Stevens, Washington, USA
Living In: Lynnwood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2006
This was just great! I didn't have any onions, so used dried minced onion. Didn't have any rosemary so I used Italian seasoning. Also, cooked it in the pressure cooker. Just wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2006
Crock Pot isn't Necessary This was a good recipe. It was easy to prepare: chop and wash vegetables, add liquid ingredients (I used a can of vegetable broth and a can of chicken broth and the cup of sherry), I added the seasonings and mix everything together in a roaster. I then put my pork shoulder roast on top of everything. Good for letting kids help, i.e., adding the vegetables, liquid and seasonings. Because my roaster was fairly large I added carrots, and more mushrooms and potatoes. I adjusted the seasoning (to my taste) to compensate for the extra veggies. I braised this at 275 degrees for over 6 hours and it was excellent -- hearty, tasty and beautifully tender. Vegetables were tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2006
I gave this recipe 4 stars - not because we didn't like the taste - it was very good; but because of the amount of liquid. I used the advice of previous reviewers and cut back, but there was still too much watery liquid. I dissolved one vegetable bouillion cube in about a half can of chicken broth. To this I added about 3/4 cup of sherry. I used a bag of frozen pearl onions along with fresh mushrooms, fresh rosemary, black pepper and salt. I parboiled some red potatoes and added them to the crockpot about an hour before serving (I didn't want them to be mushy). We really liked the way this tasted and I will cook this again. Like so many crockpot recipes, its presentation was lacking - not the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
104 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Mountain Home, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2006
My boyfriend still talks about this meal, two months after I made it last. He actually brags about it to his friends...lol. I followed the recipe almost exactly, however I did add some carrots because I had them on hand. It was very tastey, and so tender that when we went to remove it from the slow cooker, we cut it in half with a nylon serving spoon (likely because it had been slow-cooking for the whole day). Thanks so much, it was a definite hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2006
Oh my gosh this was fabulous. The meat was so tender and juicy and we used the left overs for sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Pork Chops II

See how to make tasty, tender chops slowly cooked in a flavorful sauce.

Pork Chops for the Slow Cooker

Making these pork chops is so easy, you won’t believe how rich they taste.

Crispy Pork Carnitas

See how to make tender, tasty, crispy carnitas for tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States