A Nice Slow-Cooked Pork Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
The pork was very tender but I thought it needed more seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2009
Bland, too much liquid. Good winter stew with some doctoring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
The flavor was good but I agree with some other reviewers that the liquid was too much, and I only used half. I will try this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2009
This was so tasty! Next time I'll take the bones out of the meat before I cook it. I'll also stick with what I did this time: using only 1/2 the can of vegetable broth. I didn't put in mushrooms, but instead used carrots & potatoes (Idaho, not peeled). I layered meat, liquids, seasonings, onions, potatoes, then carrots. Just tossed it all in, didn't mix, and let it cook all day while I was a work. By the time I got home, the potatoes were nice and soft but not mushy, the carrots were the same. The meat was very tender. It's like a cozy stew! I'll definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Megan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
The meat just falls off the bone and is lucious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
Turns out the frozen hunk of meat marked "Pork Shoulder" that I pulled out of the freezer was actually 2 thick pork steaks. I had my mind set on this recipe, so I used them. I used chicken broth instead of vegetable and cut the sherry down to 1/2 cup. Added all the veggies but the mushrooms at the beginning, put the mushrooms in for the last hour of cooking. After 6 hours on low, I took the steaks out, shredded them (didn't take much more than poking at them), and returned them to the pot. I cooked it on low for another hour, then thickened with about 1/2 cup of instant potato flakes. Served it as a pork stew with french bread for dipping. I thought it was pretty good, but my fiancee was raving about it! 4 stars because I added thyme, a bay leaf, and a clove of garlic to make it more flavorful. Thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2008
I was nervous about making this, due to the mixed reviews, but it was FANTASTIC! We followed the recipe exactly and dipped the pork in BBQ as we were eating it and it was tender, just fell right apart and tasted wonderful! I would recommend cutting down the liquid and using diced onion instead of pearls. We'll probably forgo the mushrooms and use carrots next time, too. I also used a center cut pork loin as my cut of meat. Those who say this is bland and dry must've done something wrong - it will become a regular recipe for our family!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DaniellePaoli

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Winter Haven, Florida, USA
Living In: Belvidere, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Todayz_Lady
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2008
This is an easy worry free way to get a scrumptious home cooked meal to the dinner table. Great for a lazy Sunday. Do take heed that this recipe calls for too much liquid. If you reduce it as the others suggested you will be just fine. Also after the 1st 5 hours I chose to add 3 Tbsp blended with cold water until smooth. Crockpot cooking will not reduce liquids, therefore this will thicken it up a bit. Also, I took a picture because I remember someone saying it lacked presentation. Presentation is up to the indivdual. There are many different Crockpots that not only cook, they also look great serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Todayz_Lady

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Haven, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2008
The pork is tender. But bland flavor and artistic presentation is awful. Grayish brown food. Will never fix this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pugmom

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2008
delish, DH finished off the leftovers in the middle of the night, apparently he couldn't stop thinking about it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amylouise

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Easton, Maryland, USA
Living In: Helena, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Pork Chops II

See how to make tasty, tender chops slowly cooked in a flavorful sauce.

Pork Chops for the Slow Cooker

Making these pork chops is so easy, you won’t believe how rich they taste.

Crispy Pork Carnitas

See how to make tender, tasty, crispy carnitas for tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States