A Nice Slow-Cooked Pork Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2009
This was so tasty! Next time I'll take the bones out of the meat before I cook it. I'll also stick with what I did this time: using only 1/2 the can of vegetable broth. I didn't put in mushrooms, but instead used carrots & potatoes (Idaho, not peeled). I layered meat, liquids, seasonings, onions, potatoes, then carrots. Just tossed it all in, didn't mix, and let it cook all day while I was a work. By the time I got home, the potatoes were nice and soft but not mushy, the carrots were the same. The meat was very tender. It's like a cozy stew! I'll definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Megan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
The meat just falls off the bone and is lucious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
Turns out the frozen hunk of meat marked "Pork Shoulder" that I pulled out of the freezer was actually 2 thick pork steaks. I had my mind set on this recipe, so I used them. I used chicken broth instead of vegetable and cut the sherry down to 1/2 cup. Added all the veggies but the mushrooms at the beginning, put the mushrooms in for the last hour of cooking. After 6 hours on low, I took the steaks out, shredded them (didn't take much more than poking at them), and returned them to the pot. I cooked it on low for another hour, then thickened with about 1/2 cup of instant potato flakes. Served it as a pork stew with french bread for dipping. I thought it was pretty good, but my fiancee was raving about it! 4 stars because I added thyme, a bay leaf, and a clove of garlic to make it more flavorful. Thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2008
I was nervous about making this, due to the mixed reviews, but it was FANTASTIC! We followed the recipe exactly and dipped the pork in BBQ as we were eating it and it was tender, just fell right apart and tasted wonderful! I would recommend cutting down the liquid and using diced onion instead of pearls. We'll probably forgo the mushrooms and use carrots next time, too. I also used a center cut pork loin as my cut of meat. Those who say this is bland and dry must've done something wrong - it will become a regular recipe for our family!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DaniellePaoli

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Winter Haven, Florida, USA
Living In: Belvidere, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Todayz_Lady
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2008
This is an easy worry free way to get a scrumptious home cooked meal to the dinner table. Great for a lazy Sunday. Do take heed that this recipe calls for too much liquid. If you reduce it as the others suggested you will be just fine. Also after the 1st 5 hours I chose to add 3 Tbsp blended with cold water until smooth. Crockpot cooking will not reduce liquids, therefore this will thicken it up a bit. Also, I took a picture because I remember someone saying it lacked presentation. Presentation is up to the indivdual. There are many different Crockpots that not only cook, they also look great serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Todayz_Lady

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Haven, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2008
The pork is tender. But bland flavor and artistic presentation is awful. Grayish brown food. Will never fix this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pugmom

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2008
delish, DH finished off the leftovers in the middle of the night, apparently he couldn't stop thinking about it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amylouise

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Easton, Maryland, USA
Living In: Helena, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2008
We liked this recipe - I did it in a LeCruset pan in the oven at 275* for about 7 hours. I only used 1/2 cup chicken broth and 1/2 cup wine and it was dry. I'd add a bit more liquid next time. Oh yeah, I think my meat was beef too. No problem! I served it with brown gravy and buttered noodles. We didn't eat many of the roasting veggies (pots, carrots, regular onions). I would make it again - husband gave it thumbs up (his tail was wagging for the good dinner)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2007
Maybe it was me, but I followed the recipe exactly, and we did not like this at all. Won't be making this again. Sorry :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2007
I used a 3.5 lb. pork roast, which ended up being to big for my crockpot! After I had dumped all of the ingredients in I had to cut part of the roast off. I think I ended up using too much cooking sherry in the end, but all in all the roast came out tender and pulled apart nicely. I'm not sure I liked the mushrooms cooked all day in the crock pot, they come out over cooked...?? With the vegetable broth, sherry, etc. it seems like it's too watery or something you have to drain the potatoes well otherwise you end up with a lot of watery "gravy" on your plate. Tasty recipe, however not sure I'd cook it again this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SoCo_Mama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Missoula, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Pork Chops II

See how to make tasty, tender chops slowly cooked in a flavorful sauce.

Pork Chops for the Slow Cooker

Making these pork chops is so easy, you won’t believe how rich they taste.

Crispy Pork Carnitas

See how to make tender, tasty, crispy carnitas for tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States