A Nice Slow-Cooked Pork Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
While some people criticized this recipe for being too watery, there is an easy fix for this: Make a gravy! Ladle the excess liquid into a saucepan. Thicken with cornstarch or flour until it reaches a creamy consistency. Add salt and pepper to taste. I even sliced up a few mushrooms from the crock and threw em in there. It is hands down the most delicious gravy I have ever tasted! You can pour desired amount onto the dish when it's done. It makes a huge batch so save it to pour over mashed potatoes another night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leanna Rosinski

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tinley Park, Illinois, USA
Living In: Dekalb, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
this recipe is great! i usually oven roast pork shoulders and loins, and was looking for something a little different. the rosemary adds a GREAT flavour, as does the sherry. i noticed that many people commented regarding too much liquid - i actually added 2 cups more (vegetable and chicken bouillion), and am using the very tasty cooked mushrooms/onions/potatoes/broth mix as a base for soup, after lifting out the pork shoulder roast. i'll add carrots, celery, kale, chopped fresh spinach and maybe stewing beef for the soup. the tender pork will be served on a bed of spiced basmati rice, with sides of steamed broccoli and cauliflower, el dente. yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
Meat was really tender. Added carrots and celery. Don't forget the salt. I liked the amount of liquid. Overall, unspectacular but tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rich

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dearborn, Michigan, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
I have made this recipe twice for company and everyone loved it! I did substitute cherry cola for the sherry, still came out great. I plan on making it again for Sunday supper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
Took the advice of other reviews and used 1 can vegetable broth, substituted white wine for the sherry. Cut up ½ onion, rosemary, salt & pepper. My roast was frozen so I cooked it on high for 4 hours until it was 160 degrees. That was it and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2012
Excellent and easy crock pot roast recipe. Using other suggestions, I cut down on the liquid - 2 cups of chicken broth and 1 cup of sherry. Once te roast was finished, I strained the liquid out and thickened it on the stove with cornstarch. This made a flavorful gravy that I served over boiled golden potatoes topped with the pork and veggies. I also added carrots and used four fresh sprigs of rosemary. This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
Good, I didn't taste much of a difference of doing it this way verses just putting a plain roast in the crock pot with the vegetables. A pork roast puts out enough liquid on its own. There was obviously more liquid, but not enough of a difference in taste of the meat. Ill probably do without the broth next time, maybe just do the sherry, see if that helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
Since my boss and I are on low carb diets, I omitted the potatoes. I also didn't have sherry or vegetable broth. I used sliced yellow onion instead of pearl onions, chicken broth instead of vegetable broth (and not so much, maybe 1 to 1-1/2 cups). After slow cooking overnight, I used a package of mushroom gravy mix to thicken up the liquid. I made this for my boss and she said it was "out-of-this-world good" and that she and her family licked their plates!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
I seared the roast over high heat in my iron pan. I agree with other reviewers and cut the broth to 2 cups with a little less than a cup of wine. That still gave me quite a lot of liquid, but I like the meat to be almost completely covered while it's slow cooking. Since I reduced the liquid, I also cut the rosemary to a half tablespoon ... I think I'd cut it to a teaspoon next time because it's flavor is so strong. The resulting pork is very close to a pulled pork. I would make this again ... possibly adding green beans and carrots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Pork Chops II

See how to make tasty, tender chops slowly cooked in a flavorful sauce.

Pork Chops for the Slow Cooker

Making these pork chops is so easy, you won’t believe how rich they taste.

Crispy Pork Carnitas

See how to make tender, tasty, crispy carnitas for tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States