A Nice Slow-Cooked Pork Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
Meat was really tender. Added carrots and celery. Don't forget the salt. I liked the amount of liquid. Overall, unspectacular but tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rich

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dearborn, Michigan, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
I have made this recipe twice for company and everyone loved it! I did substitute cherry cola for the sherry, still came out great. I plan on making it again for Sunday supper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
Took the advice of other reviews and used 1 can vegetable broth, substituted white wine for the sherry. Cut up ½ onion, rosemary, salt & pepper. My roast was frozen so I cooked it on high for 4 hours until it was 160 degrees. That was it and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2012
Excellent and easy crock pot roast recipe. Using other suggestions, I cut down on the liquid - 2 cups of chicken broth and 1 cup of sherry. Once te roast was finished, I strained the liquid out and thickened it on the stove with cornstarch. This made a flavorful gravy that I served over boiled golden potatoes topped with the pork and veggies. I also added carrots and used four fresh sprigs of rosemary. This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
Good, I didn't taste much of a difference of doing it this way verses just putting a plain roast in the crock pot with the vegetables. A pork roast puts out enough liquid on its own. There was obviously more liquid, but not enough of a difference in taste of the meat. Ill probably do without the broth next time, maybe just do the sherry, see if that helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
Since my boss and I are on low carb diets, I omitted the potatoes. I also didn't have sherry or vegetable broth. I used sliced yellow onion instead of pearl onions, chicken broth instead of vegetable broth (and not so much, maybe 1 to 1-1/2 cups). After slow cooking overnight, I used a package of mushroom gravy mix to thicken up the liquid. I made this for my boss and she said it was "out-of-this-world good" and that she and her family licked their plates!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
I seared the roast over high heat in my iron pan. I agree with other reviewers and cut the broth to 2 cups with a little less than a cup of wine. That still gave me quite a lot of liquid, but I like the meat to be almost completely covered while it's slow cooking. Since I reduced the liquid, I also cut the rosemary to a half tablespoon ... I think I'd cut it to a teaspoon next time because it's flavor is so strong. The resulting pork is very close to a pulled pork. I would make this again ... possibly adding green beans and carrots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
This was fabulous. I did follow some of the other reviewer's suggestions and made the following changes: Halved the veg broth, 3/4ths cup of sherry, doubled the rosemary, added some thyme, and a clove of garlic. Next time will add way more salt but other wise it was AMAZING.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
Nice Slow-Cooked Pork Haiku: "Tender, easy, good. (I used pork loin, and not roast. I'll make this again!" I had a massive hunk of pork loin that I'd split in half to freeze, so I used part of it for this meal. I also only had about a cup's worth of pearl onions, so I supplemented chopped Vidalia for the other half. Otherwise, the rest of the recipe went as written for me, and the pork was fall-apart-tender in about 6 hrs. on low. I'm surprised that the rosemary taste didn't come thru at all, so when I make this again, I'll definitely increase the rosemary, as well as add some minced garlic, and possibly some carrots, just for some additional veggies to sit and soak up the nummy juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Pork Chops II

See how to make tasty, tender chops slowly cooked in a flavorful sauce.

Pork Chops for the Slow Cooker

Making these pork chops is so easy, you won’t believe how rich they taste.

Crispy Pork Carnitas

See how to make tender, tasty, crispy carnitas for tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States