A-Maize-ing Corn Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2008
I triple the recipe and barely have any leftovers! My kids love this and my 17 y/o requests it for football nights! He wants me to make it for the whole team on game night. I don't change a thing except cook it a little longer to thicken it up just a bit. Highly recommend it and it is so easy. I added crab to it once and served it at a tail-gate party... first thing to go!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cathy Wiechert
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2008
Four stars because I made a few changes. I used chicken broth instead of water (4 cups), two more potatoes and 4 cups of fresh corn (because I had so much extra corn on the cob that I had to use). I also spiced it up a little with 1 t. chili powder, 1/2 t. cayenne pepper, 1 t. garlic powder and a bay leaf. Used two cups of 1/2 and 1/2 in place of milk. Topped with the crumbled bacon and a dab of sour cream. Delish! Next time I might try to thicken it a little, but I suppose if you use the cream corn and less liquid it would be thicker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy Wiechert

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seymour, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mound, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2008
Loved it! I doubled the recipe and made a clonking great big batch of it! It was easy to make and delicious. I found that leftovers were even better. I made only two changes: I left out the salt, and I stirred the bacon right into the chowder before serving. I'll make it again for sure! Thanks for the recipe, Ellen G!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary McCarthy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Braintree, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2007
This is a good soup recipe... However, I did use chicken broth in place of water and it required more than the 1/2 cup stated. I probably used about 1 and a half cups. It needed a little bit of salt and LOTS of pepper. Overall, it was quick and easy and quite tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee Ridgeway

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2007
Totally delicious. We used a bit less bacon. Tasted excellent the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2007
Easy recipe! I followed some of the advice and added some cajun seasoning. It's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jopp

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beaver, Utah, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2007
With others' suggested changes, this was great. Used 1 c milk, 1 c heavy cream. Simmered for 15 minutes all together to thicken. Used chicken bouillon in water to boil potatoes. Tastes great re-heated, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2007
so yummy, so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Doylestown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2007
Delicious! I like to save some of the bacon to sprinkle on top when serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PATTYPRO

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2007
My guests loved this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wylie, Texas, USA
Living In: Washington, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 145) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Seafood Chowder

See how to make a low-fat chowder that’s creamy and full of flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States