A-Maize-ing Corn Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2008
I triple the recipe and barely have any leftovers! My kids love this and my 17 y/o requests it for football nights! He wants me to make it for the whole team on game night. I don't change a thing except cook it a little longer to thicken it up just a bit. Highly recommend it and it is so easy. I added crab to it once and served it at a tail-gate party... first thing to go!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl Marangon

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cathy Wiechert
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2008
Four stars because I made a few changes. I used chicken broth instead of water (4 cups), two more potatoes and 4 cups of fresh corn (because I had so much extra corn on the cob that I had to use). I also spiced it up a little with 1 t. chili powder, 1/2 t. cayenne pepper, 1 t. garlic powder and a bay leaf. Used two cups of 1/2 and 1/2 in place of milk. Topped with the crumbled bacon and a dab of sour cream. Delish! Next time I might try to thicken it a little, but I suppose if you use the cream corn and less liquid it would be thicker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy Wiechert

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seymour, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mound, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2008
Loved it! I doubled the recipe and made a clonking great big batch of it! It was easy to make and delicious. I found that leftovers were even better. I made only two changes: I left out the salt, and I stirred the bacon right into the chowder before serving. I'll make it again for sure! Thanks for the recipe, Ellen G!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary McCarthy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Braintree, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2007
This is a good soup recipe... However, I did use chicken broth in place of water and it required more than the 1/2 cup stated. I probably used about 1 and a half cups. It needed a little bit of salt and LOTS of pepper. Overall, it was quick and easy and quite tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee Ridgeway

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2007
Totally delicious. We used a bit less bacon. Tasted excellent the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2007
Easy recipe! I followed some of the advice and added some cajun seasoning. It's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jopp

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beaver, Utah, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2007
With others' suggested changes, this was great. Used 1 c milk, 1 c heavy cream. Simmered for 15 minutes all together to thicken. Used chicken bouillon in water to boil potatoes. Tastes great re-heated, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2007
so yummy, so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Doylestown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2007
Delicious! I like to save some of the bacon to sprinkle on top when serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PATTYPRO

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2007
My guests loved this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wylie, Texas, USA
Living In: Washington, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 145) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Seafood Chowder

See how to make a low-fat chowder that’s creamy and full of flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States