A-Maize-ing Corn Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Photo by DetectiveL
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
I used chicken stock instead of water and dissolved some flour in the milk before adding it. I also used a celery stalk (for 1/2 recipe). Added some parsley and pepper, but the chowder still tastes too much like creamed corn. I guess it's okay if you like that, but I would have preferred something more complex-tasting. It's quite easy to make, at least; I made it last-minute for my husband to take to work for lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DetectiveL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
I made this as an early afternoon "snack" before the Thanksgiving feast that evening. My husband loved this corn chowder! The only thing I changed was I used 1 cup milk and 1 cup 1/2 & 1/2 instead of the 2 cups of milk. Great recipe! Thanks for sharing it with us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paso Robles, California, USA
Living In: Medford, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2008
This may have turned out to be the best soup I've ever made. My Sweetie says I should be selling it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bowie, Maryland, USA
Living In: Big Pine Key, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2008
This was just ok and I even had to add a lot of spices and herbs in order for it to have any flavor. Sorry but I am removing this one from my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
Great recipe. For those who have trouble thickening, I blended some of the broth with corn and used that as a thickener. Worked perfectly and you can add your milk or half and half a little at a time to get it the consistency you want.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by belle
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
This was really good and not difficult at all. I used Morningstar bacon on top. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by belle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2008
I made this recipe and added a few touches of my own.I added 1 can of cream of celery and 1 can cream of potato,fresh chopped chives and parsly.I substituted 1 can mexican corn instead of regular.It was yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2008
This was really yummy! The kids loved it too! I did change the original recipe a bit though. I doubled the amount of corn, potatoes and onion. Then I used 1 can of evaporated milk instead of the regular milk, next time I may use cream. I had to add a bit more water to the onion and potato mixture so they would cook properly. I also added two really big spoonfuls of sourcream when I combined all the ingrediants. It gave it a really nice flavor and thickened it up a bit. I will definately be preparing this agian.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Twin Falls, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2008
Just really thin, not too creamy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2008
This is very good - I like that it doesn't use flour to thicken. I used an extra can of corn - white shoepeg, just to give it more texture, and about 1 more potato. I added some Old Bay and dry mustard, and quite a bit of pepper. I think this is a fun recipe to play with on seasoning - I'm thinking about a little curry next time. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 145) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Seafood Chowder

See how to make a low-fat chowder that’s creamy and full of flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States