A-Maize-ing Corn Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2008
This may have turned out to be the best soup I've ever made. My Sweetie says I should be selling it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bowie, Maryland, USA
Living In: Big Pine Key, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2008
This was just ok and I even had to add a lot of spices and herbs in order for it to have any flavor. Sorry but I am removing this one from my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
Great recipe. For those who have trouble thickening, I blended some of the broth with corn and used that as a thickener. Worked perfectly and you can add your milk or half and half a little at a time to get it the consistency you want.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by belle
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
This was really good and not difficult at all. I used Morningstar bacon on top. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by belle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2008
I made this recipe and added a few touches of my own.I added 1 can of cream of celery and 1 can cream of potato,fresh chopped chives and parsly.I substituted 1 can mexican corn instead of regular.It was yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2008
This was really yummy! The kids loved it too! I did change the original recipe a bit though. I doubled the amount of corn, potatoes and onion. Then I used 1 can of evaporated milk instead of the regular milk, next time I may use cream. I had to add a bit more water to the onion and potato mixture so they would cook properly. I also added two really big spoonfuls of sourcream when I combined all the ingrediants. It gave it a really nice flavor and thickened it up a bit. I will definately be preparing this agian.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Twin Falls, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2008
Just really thin, not too creamy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2008
This is very good - I like that it doesn't use flour to thicken. I used an extra can of corn - white shoepeg, just to give it more texture, and about 1 more potato. I added some Old Bay and dry mustard, and quite a bit of pepper. I think this is a fun recipe to play with on seasoning - I'm thinking about a little curry next time. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2008
I triple the recipe and barely have any leftovers! My kids love this and my 17 y/o requests it for football nights! He wants me to make it for the whole team on game night. I don't change a thing except cook it a little longer to thicken it up just a bit. Highly recommend it and it is so easy. I added crab to it once and served it at a tail-gate party... first thing to go!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CathyW
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2008
Four stars because I made a few changes. I used chicken broth instead of water (4 cups), two more potatoes and 4 cups of fresh corn (because I had so much extra corn on the cob that I had to use). I also spiced it up a little with 1 t. chili powder, 1/2 t. cayenne pepper, 1 t. garlic powder and a bay leaf. Used two cups of 1/2 and 1/2 in place of milk. Topped with the crumbled bacon and a dab of sour cream. Delish! Next time I might try to thicken it a little, but I suppose if you use the cream corn and less liquid it would be thicker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CathyW

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seymour, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mound, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 143) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Seafood Chowder

See how to make a low-fat chowder that’s creamy and full of flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States