A-Maize-ing Corn Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Photo by DetectiveL
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
I used chicken stock instead of water and dissolved some flour in the milk before adding it. I also used a celery stalk (for 1/2 recipe). Added some parsley and pepper, but the chowder still tastes too much like creamed corn. I guess it's okay if you like that, but I would have preferred something more complex-tasting. It's quite easy to make, at least; I made it last-minute for my husband to take to work for lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DetectiveL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
I made this as an early afternoon "snack" before the Thanksgiving feast that evening. My husband loved this corn chowder! The only thing I changed was I used 1 cup milk and 1 cup 1/2 & 1/2 instead of the 2 cups of milk. Great recipe! Thanks for sharing it with us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paso Robles, California, USA
Living In: Medford, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2008
This may have turned out to be the best soup I've ever made. My Sweetie says I should be selling it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bowie, Maryland, USA
Living In: Big Pine Key, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2008
This was just ok and I even had to add a lot of spices and herbs in order for it to have any flavor. Sorry but I am removing this one from my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
Great recipe. For those who have trouble thickening, I blended some of the broth with corn and used that as a thickener. Worked perfectly and you can add your milk or half and half a little at a time to get it the consistency you want.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by belle
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
This was really good and not difficult at all. I used Morningstar bacon on top. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by belle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2008
I made this recipe and added a few touches of my own.I added 1 can of cream of celery and 1 can cream of potato,fresh chopped chives and parsly.I substituted 1 can mexican corn instead of regular.It was yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2008
This was really yummy! The kids loved it too! I did change the original recipe a bit though. I doubled the amount of corn, potatoes and onion. Then I used 1 can of evaporated milk instead of the regular milk, next time I may use cream. I had to add a bit more water to the onion and potato mixture so they would cook properly. I also added two really big spoonfuls of sourcream when I combined all the ingrediants. It gave it a really nice flavor and thickened it up a bit. I will definately be preparing this agian.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Twin Falls, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2008
Just really thin, not too creamy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2008
This is very good - I like that it doesn't use flour to thicken. I used an extra can of corn - white shoepeg, just to give it more texture, and about 1 more potato. I added some Old Bay and dry mustard, and quite a bit of pepper. I think this is a fun recipe to play with on seasoning - I'm thinking about a little curry next time. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 145) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Seafood Chowder

See how to make a low-fat chowder that’s creamy and full of flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States