A-Maize-ing Corn Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2009
This was pretty good, but I don't think I'll make it again. It's pretty thin for a chowder. It's also too sweet for me, but canned corn is pretty sweet. It might be better made with fresh corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bird
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2009
EXCELLENT! I used condensed milk instead and my family loved it...but it was a little sweet for me...next time I will try one cup of cream instead of the condensed milk. Otherwise, this was wonderful. Bravo Sunnybyrd!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2009
Either use 2 really large or 3 to 4 smaller potatoes. Use the liquid from the can of corn as part of the water for the potatoes. If it comes out soupy, add a few instant mashed potatoes for thickener.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
My husband ate every bit of this over the course of 3 days. I replaced the salt with an equal amount of Cajun seasoning mix and used all creamed corn (because I was trying to get rid of it). Those were the only changes I made; it was very easy; and I will make it for him again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
This is AMAZING! I added the bacon to the soup while it was cooking and it was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vincennes, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
This recipe was wonderful! I did make some modifications, I used 3 potatoes instead of 2, added some seasoned salt, I didn't have any regular whole kernel corn so I just used the two cans of creamed corn. After reading other reviews I added half a can cream of chicken soup to add more flavor and thicken it up a bit. Will definitely be making this in the future!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
This soup is a little watery after cook and I was hoping mine to be slightly thicker. The recipe did not mention if kennel corn needs to be drained or undrained so that added a little liquid maybe I needed to drained first. My husband and my daughter likes it so I still give it four stars, I will try different recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tommy'smom06

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
This recipe was so easy to make! I added seasoning throughout the cooking process (the onions and potatoes) to make sure that it would be flavourful. I also added less liquid so as to make the chowder more thick. I highly recommend this recipe for anyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
I wanted to make soup for lunch at work tomorrow, and saw today's review of this recipe. All I can say is YUM! The only things I did differently were to use veggie stock instead of water, and I pre-cooked the potatoes before stirring them in. I'm not gonna add the bacon until tomorrow because I don't want it get soggy. If I were to make this again, I think I'd throw in a can of clams too. Thanks, Ellen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
My husband loved this (corn lover) We do plan to tweak it in the future... not sure how, just to spice it up a bit. One change we did make was to put the bacon right in it instead of sprinkle on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsCdnFrog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Napanee, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 61-70 (of 145) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Seafood Chowder

See how to make a low-fat chowder that’s creamy and full of flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States