A-Maize-ing Corn Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2009
This was pretty good, but I don't think I'll make it again. It's pretty thin for a chowder. It's also too sweet for me, but canned corn is pretty sweet. It might be better made with fresh corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bird
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2009
EXCELLENT! I used condensed milk instead and my family loved it...but it was a little sweet for me...next time I will try one cup of cream instead of the condensed milk. Otherwise, this was wonderful. Bravo Sunnybyrd!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine Kelly

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2009
Either use 2 really large or 3 to 4 smaller potatoes. Use the liquid from the can of corn as part of the water for the potatoes. If it comes out soupy, add a few instant mashed potatoes for thickener.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
My husband ate every bit of this over the course of 3 days. I replaced the salt with an equal amount of Cajun seasoning mix and used all creamed corn (because I was trying to get rid of it). Those were the only changes I made; it was very easy; and I will make it for him again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
This is AMAZING! I added the bacon to the soup while it was cooking and it was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vincennes, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
This recipe was wonderful! I did make some modifications, I used 3 potatoes instead of 2, added some seasoned salt, I didn't have any regular whole kernel corn so I just used the two cans of creamed corn. After reading other reviews I added half a can cream of chicken soup to add more flavor and thicken it up a bit. Will definitely be making this in the future!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
This soup is a little watery after cook and I was hoping mine to be slightly thicker. The recipe did not mention if kennel corn needs to be drained or undrained so that added a little liquid maybe I needed to drained first. My husband and my daughter likes it so I still give it four stars, I will try different recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tommy'smom06

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
This recipe was so easy to make! I added seasoning throughout the cooking process (the onions and potatoes) to make sure that it would be flavourful. I also added less liquid so as to make the chowder more thick. I highly recommend this recipe for anyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
I wanted to make soup for lunch at work tomorrow, and saw today's review of this recipe. All I can say is YUM! The only things I did differently were to use veggie stock instead of water, and I pre-cooked the potatoes before stirring them in. I'm not gonna add the bacon until tomorrow because I don't want it get soggy. If I were to make this again, I think I'd throw in a can of clams too. Thanks, Ellen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
My husband loved this (corn lover) We do plan to tweak it in the future... not sure how, just to spice it up a bit. One change we did make was to put the bacon right in it instead of sprinkle on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsCdnFrog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Napanee, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 61-70 (of 145) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Seafood Chowder

See how to make a low-fat chowder that’s creamy and full of flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States