A-Maize-ing Corn Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
Corn chowder is a rather bland meal, but maybe that's why it is so comforting. My additions always include a cup of cheedar cheese and a few dashes of Franks red hot sauce. Serve with more cheese sprinkled on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
This was easy and delicious! I had 2 ears of fresh corn so I used them instead of a can of corn. I also used about 2 cups of diced red potatoes with the skins on and I added a cup of chopped green chili. I used a bit more water with the potatoes and added another cup of water at the end because it seemed a bit too thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
I absolutely love corn chowder. This was a very delicous, easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimmay!

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
So yummy - even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
My family loved this chowder. The only change I made was to use chicken instead of bacon. Simple and very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
Ellen I love you! This is one of my families favorites! So simple and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
I thought this was an excellent recipe for corn chowder! I love Hale & Hearty Soups' sweet corn chowder and this was very similar. I followed other suggestions and used water from the can of corn to cook the potatoes. I also substituted one of the cups of milk with a can of cream of chicken soup. I only used half an onion (large yellow), and used a pinch of cayenne in addition to the salt and black pepper. My only word of advice would be to watch out for how much salt you use. It gets very salty once you add the bacon. I will be making this again soon, it's very easy and perfect for fall!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
This soup was very good without being overly rich. I would definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
This was such a great comfort soup! I used half and half instead of milk and it had a little beat of sweetness added to the robust flavor of the onion and bacon. I also used just half of the onion but I think it would have been great with the whole onion too. It was just great with the cold weather and a little bit of the sniffles on my part. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2009
Pregnant, and craving corn chowder, it was wonderful, but I couldn't have the left overs... I was sick of it at that point... pretty soon that won't be the case any I'll be able to eat left overs again! Very yummy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Displaying results 51-60 (of 145) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Seafood Chowder

See how to make a low-fat chowder that’s creamy and full of flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States