A-Maize-ing Corn Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
Absolutely delicious (and easy)! I made this a few months back and have made it about every other week since then. It pairs well with cornbread. I do prefer it without bacon, which is not the norm for me since everything tastes better with bacon. I also add an extra can of corn, per another review. To top it off I add some shredded cheddar. It's the perfect recipe for a cold winter's day...a must try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
My daughter made this. Was easy, and we enjoyed this simple tasting chowder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
OUTSTANDING! Here is the key: use 1 cup water with chicken boullion for the potatoes and mix in the onions that were sauteed in bacon drippings while the potatoes soften (I practically pureed the onions in the food processor before adding them to the bacon drippings), then add 1/2 cup half-and-half, 1 can condensed cream of chicken soup, pepper to taste (no salt necessary since you used bacon drippings to sautee the onions and that's going right in the soup), 1/2 tablespoon of garlic powder, then the 2 cans creamed corn and 1 can whole kernel corn (after draining the water from the can)...MAYBE add in a quick spurt of milk to make it a little thinner, and throw in the chopped bacon bits (made as suggested, although I threw them in a food processor before mixing right into the soup) right before serving. Seriously one of the best recipes of all time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JeannieV

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
This was a very good recipe that my family really enjoyed. Easy to prepare too. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dickinson, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
I thought this was a great recipe. I boiled the potatoes in chicken broth and substituted 1 cup of milk with a can of cream of chicken soup (per other reviewers suggestions) to thicken it up a bit...also threw in a couple shakes of crushed red pepper to give it a little zing (we love spicy). Very good...am definitely keeping this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
Always comforting and filling. :-) I often substitute some milk for half and half to make it a little creamier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
Very good. I like that it's simple to make. Used 1 1/2 c. milk and 1/2c. half and half. I love creamy soups and will probably use 1c. milk and 1c. heavy whipping cream next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
This is delicious! I add pressed garlic, but otherwise, the recipe is perfect as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
Super easy to make ..you make want to add some different seasonings to spruce it up a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
Corn chowder is a rather bland meal, but maybe that's why it is so comforting. My additions always include a cup of cheedar cheese and a few dashes of Franks red hot sauce. Serve with more cheese sprinkled on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 144) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Seafood Chowder

See how to make a low-fat chowder that’s creamy and full of flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States