A-Maize-ing Corn Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
This was a tasty recipe. However, I added about 2 teaspoons of chicken boullion and it really increased the flavor. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nomnom

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
something different if you like corn chowder, but not too amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
Amazing indeed. I substituted frozen corn for the whole kernel and added a little concentrated chicken broth with the water. Everyone enjoyed it. Its a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2010
I didn't use the bacon grease after cooking the bacon. I used olive oil for the onions and added 1 cup of chicken broth in place of the water. Then I poured the mixture in the blender. Nice consistency, I'll be sure to make it again. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
Yummy!!!!! Very quick and easy to make! Instead of the whole cook the bacon thing, I used Real Bacon Bits sprinkled on the top with some cheese. We all loved this and will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Sumter, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2010
I added some celery and carrots to the mix. I mashed one of the potatoes after cooking then added it to the soup to make it a little thicker. Next time I might use cream instead of the milk to give it a little more body. This is easily a five star chowder!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROOKIE COOKIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Big Stone Gap, Virginia, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2010
Great recipe! I used condensed milk and a dash of hot sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
This is a corn soup--not chowder. The recipe doesn't specify a certain kind of milk. I used 1%. It needs a thicker milk or add milk or cornstarch. Drain the corn. The flavor was mild but I definitely could taste the corn and the bacon. I didn't crumble the bacon overtop. I used it for something else. Next time, I add a heaping tablespoon of cornstarch to 1/4 cup milk. I think that will make it thick enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ravenna, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
as written it is very thin. i added some instant potato flakes at the end as suggested by others. this made it much better. i was lucky i had them in the pantry. this was good w/ a homemade french baguette w/ butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MI$$DREA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
Exactly what I was looking for in a corn chowder! Perfectly sweet and flavorful. I used about 1.5 cups of milk and added some instant mashed potato flakes to thicken it up a little, based on previous reviews. I will make this again and again. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 144) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Grilled Salmon with Bacon and Corn Relish

A warm bacon and fresh corn relish make this salmon spectacular.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States