A-Maize-ing Corn Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
This was super easy and really yummy!!! It was very bland so i added some garlic powder and season salt.. I also crumbled the bacon in the soup and let it simmer!! Overall this was sooo super yummy ans will be made again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
This was a tasty recipe. However, I added about 2 teaspoons of chicken boullion and it really increased the flavor. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nomnom

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
something different if you like corn chowder, but not too amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
Amazing indeed. I substituted frozen corn for the whole kernel and added a little concentrated chicken broth with the water. Everyone enjoyed it. Its a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2010
I didn't use the bacon grease after cooking the bacon. I used olive oil for the onions and added 1 cup of chicken broth in place of the water. Then I poured the mixture in the blender. Nice consistency, I'll be sure to make it again. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
Yummy!!!!! Very quick and easy to make! Instead of the whole cook the bacon thing, I used Real Bacon Bits sprinkled on the top with some cheese. We all loved this and will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Sumter, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2010
I added some celery and carrots to the mix. I mashed one of the potatoes after cooking then added it to the soup to make it a little thicker. Next time I might use cream instead of the milk to give it a little more body. This is easily a five star chowder!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROOKIE COOKIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Big Stone Gap, Virginia, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2010
Great recipe! I used condensed milk and a dash of hot sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
This is a corn soup--not chowder. The recipe doesn't specify a certain kind of milk. I used 1%. It needs a thicker milk or add milk or cornstarch. Drain the corn. The flavor was mild but I definitely could taste the corn and the bacon. I didn't crumble the bacon overtop. I used it for something else. Next time, I add a heaping tablespoon of cornstarch to 1/4 cup milk. I think that will make it thick enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ravenna, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
as written it is very thin. i added some instant potato flakes at the end as suggested by others. this made it much better. i was lucky i had them in the pantry. this was good w/ a homemade french baguette w/ butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missdrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 145) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Seafood Chowder

See how to make a low-fat chowder that’s creamy and full of flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States