A-Maize-ing Corn Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
it was great but as like everybody else said it was thin so, I added some flour to it which made it better! did 4 pieces of bacon instead of 6 and put it in the pot. Put two tbsp of bacon drippings in, pinch of Cheyenne pepper to give it a kick, a lil more pepper, no salt, 2 extra whole kernel cans, 2 small onions, 1/4 of lb potatoes, 1/4 water, 1 cup half and half, some garlic powder and 1 tbsp of oregano and basil! it was delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
I picked this recipe because of its simple ingredients, but I realized that I didn't have everything on-hand! So I replaced the cubed potatoes with 2 cups of prepared mash potatoes (these had 2 Tbsp of butter added), and instead of 2 cans of cream-style corn and 1 can of whole kernel corn, I used 1 can cream-style corn (this part you can't skip) and 2 cups of frozen whole kernel corn. Also, I skipped the bacon. The family gave it rave reviews. If the soup isn't thick enough, simply add more water or milk to thin it out. I will definitely make this again -- and will try it when I actually have potatoes on-hand, but I think I will mash them up for a smooth consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
This recipe worked out perfectly. I was very easily able to make it my own and it turned out wonderfully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2011
My mom has made this soup for years. It was probably our first-ever AllRecipes meal. For as long as I can remember I've made this for my birthday. The best corn chowder, ever, in my opinion!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
I made this twice in one week at the request of my family. The first time I kept it the same. The second time around I cut fresh corn of the cob and added a cup of half and half. It's great for a fall day in Maine! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bevvie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
Not bad, but a little bland for my taste. I added a little dried rosemary (maybe 1/4 tsp) and a LOT of cinnamon (maybe 3 tbs), plus some freshly ground nutmeg. I also put a stick blender to it to get the consistency I wanted. I left a little chunkiness, in mine. In the end it turned out really well, but I had to modify the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
Fantastic and flavorful! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2011
I used leftover corn from a crawfish boil and stock I made from a smoked chicken. Additions Threw in 1/2 stick of butter, fresh herbs, and some chili powder too.mmmmmMMMMMM!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by OkinawanPrincess
Reviewed: May 10, 2011
Delicious! This is a real nice comfort food. I added bits of ham, crispy crumbled bacon and used half and half. I used chicken stock in place of water. I also used half of an red onion, chopped and two red potatoes, cubed, with skin on. I added four ears of fresh corn along with one can of cream-style corn. I let it simmer for a while to thicken up and seasoned with Hawaiian sea salt and fresh ground black pepper. I served this with homemade, "J.P.'s Big Daddy Biscuits," also from this website.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkinawanPrincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
A amazing blending of a corn chowder .It is bright and cheery and oh so deliscious. Wouldn't change a thing except perhaps increase the size of the finished product cause what I made went way too fast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Brownsville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 145) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Grilled Salmon with Bacon and Corn Relish

A warm bacon and fresh corn relish make this salmon spectacular.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States