A Jerky Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2004
OK, so maybe I am merely a novice in the kitchen, but here I am preparing this dish (it's marinating as we speak) and my hands start burning. How was I supposed to know not to touch the pepper with my hands? Apparently (now that I have researched the Habenero peppers online) you are not supposed to touch these peppers with your bare hands (i.e., you are supposed to wear rubber gloves) and you must wash the cutting board and knives to prevent the spreading of this capsaicin in the pepper which can burn your skin upon contact. I THINK THIS IS SOMETHING THAT SHOULD HAVE BEEN INCLUDED IN THE RECIPE DIRECTIONS!! Some sort of 'handling instructions or warning' and what to do if you happen to come into contact with this capsaicin. I am so disappointed, I am ready to dump the dish and start something else for dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
241 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2002
If you haven't eaten jerk chicken this is a good recipe but there are better ones out there. The ones I've used have these ingrediants and a lot more, like orange juice, white wine vingar in addition to the red wine, scallions, ginger, etc. If you like this recipe, then look around for others and sample the differences. Once you come up with a great jerk sauce, you can use it on chicken, beef, pork, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodside, New York, USA
Living In: Linden, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2006
This didn't turn out for me. It didn't look anything like the picture either. Although my husband and son liked it, I didn't care much for it. I may try again, but grill instead of broil. **Update to my first review. I am now giving this 5 stars. I made some mistakes the first time I made this, so when its prepared correct it's delicious. The one thing I keep forgetting to do is hold out part of the marinade to pour over after cooking, but even without it the flavor is great. We also grilled it this time instead of broiling and it is definitely better cooked on the grill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2002
Great! A little hot (I will only use a small or 1/2 pepper next time) but very good. I let it marinade for 1 hour and served it with white rice. I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2006
I thought this recipe was absolutely terrific! I used chicken thighs instead of breasts and baked at 475 for about 40 minutes turning once and left the marinade in the pan so the chicken wouldn't stick to the bottom. The only thing is I didn't think it was spicy enough with the one habanero for it to be true spicy jerk. Next time I'll use to peppers instead of the one. Thanks so much for this recipe, it's a great one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2006
So this isn't a "traditional" jerk- WHO CARES!!! It's wonderful! I just made this tonight, and my husband wants it again tomorrow night with shrimp instead of chicken! I used onion powder and dried thyme because it was easy, and went for a whole habenero. Now I like spicy, but habeneros scare me. I de-seed completely (WITH GLOVES!) and left a little of the menbrane. It was just spicy enough, and my husband who likes super spicy was fulfilled with the reserve sauce to kick up the heat. Our seven year old devoured it- spicy side sauce and all. The sweet is fairly subtle, and the spice creeps up slowly. Very Good. We will make this a regular. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raiven

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2002
Yummy, yummy in our tummies! This was great, and very easy. If you can't take the heat, I suggest cutting the habanero pepper in 1/4 or 1/2, but even our youngest loved this chicken. Also, we cooked our chicken outside on the grill - yummy! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2002
Recently returned from a trip to Jamaica, this was just the thing to take our tastebuds back! Not TOO hot, a little bit sweet - a perfect blend of spices and flavors. I served it over long grain chicken-flavored rice, with a cold Red Stripe! Excellent!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
I made this recipe exactly as given. It was excellent. There was definitely some heat, but not too much so to make inedible. If I were to change anything....I might save more marinade for the sauce, but that's only because I ate this with rice and the sauce would be nice to use on the rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by melro

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
I made this for my daughter's birthday party and it was a big hit. I followed the recipe to a T, except I used two habanero peppers and 4 cloves of garlic...to kick it up a notch. One warning--it is a total must to use gloves when handling habanero peppers. My fingers and nails were burning for an entire day! (Boy have I learned my lesson in not under estimating the powerfulness of these tiny things.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 278) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Jamaican Jerk Chicken

See how to make spicy Jamaican jerk chicken on the grill.

Chef John's Chicken and Rice

See how Chef John makes rich, deeply flavorful arroz con pollo.

Low-Cal Hawaiian Chicken Kabob Dinner

This 600-calorie meal is full of tropical and Asian-infused delights.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States