A Jerky Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
used jalepenos (2 plus some seeds) and it wasn't hot at all
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
I used this on a pork roast and it was amazing. I didn't have a habanero so I substitued and used jalapeno sauce. It made excellent pulled pork sandwiches. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2012
Though I wouldn't say this is what I think of as a true Caribbean jerk recipe, this recipe was great. I had to make a few substitutions because of what I had on hand. I substituted green onions for the onion, 1 tablespoon of worcestershire for a tablespoon of soy and added 1 clove of garlic. I served it over plain white rice. This was fantastic, but, be warned that it is VERY spicy if you do not deseed the habanero. It doesn't say to do so on the recipe, so I didn't, because we do love spicy. I am making this again as a marinade for wings for a party tomorrow and will make a batch with the deseeded habanero for those who may not be able to handle the heat. A definite keeper recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Living In: Providence Forge, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
This was a good recipe, but it was more like a teriyaki chicken than a jerk chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2012
It wasn't that bad even though I didn't have all of the ingredients. I substituted the fresh thyme for parsley, the habanero pepper for ground pepper, and I didn't have any sesame oil or ground allspice. Plus I made my own red wine vinegar (I just mixed my sweet red wine w/reg. vinegar). So you really didn't need all of those ingredients to make a good, quick meal!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2011
This is one of my go-to recipes. I always add more veggies, usually 1/2 an onion and a head of broccoli and serve over brown rice = delicious. I used two habeneros the last time I made it and it was spicy like WOAH. But still tasty. Powdered thyme works just fine too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi Korver

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shelton, Washington, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
This was awesome! I didn't deviate from the recipe at all. If I had a complaint (which I don't), it would only be that this is pretty hard to use as the main dish. It wasn't too spicy at all (it was perfect) but it's too spicy to eat a full chicken breast worth. My solution would be to make extra sides to fill up on, or even have it as an appetizer. All in all: Great! Also: Wear gloves! The most helpful review on here is a one star about the pepper burning her hands. That just goes to show how helpful reviews are! Finally, if you're worried about this being too spicy for your taste, don't make it for a meal. First make it in a small amount. If you think it's too spicy give it away. I'm proof that there are people out there that like it exactly as the recipe prepares it. The next time, adjust the habenaro to your spicy liking and enjoy! ***Edit*** I've made this many times now and still love it as is, but doubling the recipe for the sauce. FYI there is a major difference in spicyness when you use fresh peppers as opposed to canned or jarred. Fresh peppers will be LESS spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hlbennett

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2011
This was great! The only thing I changed was added a bit more garlic and onion. The one habanero adds a great kick! Was afraid it would be too sweet with all the brown sugar, it was perfectly balanced and added a GREAT caramelization. Oh, and I did keep the chicken breasts whole, since we had it with veggies instead of rice. Can't wait to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rdsxlolo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eastchester, New York, USA
Living In: Altamonte Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2011
This was too spicy for us to even enjoy the flavor, but it was relatively simple to whip up and serve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Living In: Parkville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2011
A wonderful blend of sweet and spicy flavors. One of the best chicken dishes according to my son.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RockyTrax

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Yankton, South Dakota, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 279) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Jamaican Jerk Chicken

See how to make spicy Jamaican jerk chicken on the grill.

Chef John's Jerk Chicken Wings

Caramelized chicken wings marinated in spicy Jamaican jerk seasonings.

Chef John's Chicken and Rice

See how Chef John makes rich, deeply flavorful arroz con pollo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States