A Jerky Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
I wasn't to impressed with this recipe. I followed it to the T and even decided to make it a second time with a jalepeno pepper instead and still did not like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Concord, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
This is fantastic and SO easy! A single big habanero is just enough spice - use two if you want it very warm! I was surprised to read the review from the woman whose hands were burning after cutting the pepper, but I guess it's all in what you're used to. We cook a lot of spicy food down here, and I've chopped up a dozen habaneros at a time before without getting even a finger tingle. I'd never heard of anyone wearing rubber gloves before. :S
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TexCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
This is a delicious marinade. Not a typical jerk chicken recipe, but it is well worth trying. I chose to make this as part of an effort to cut back on calories lately. A couple of notes: I doubled the recipe, and the amount was just right. There is also no need to pour any reserved marinade over the cooked meat. The broiled meat was perfect without any additional sauce. We actually used the extra marinade as a dipping sauce and decided the chicken was better without it. Will definitely file this one away and make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2009
Maybe I did something wrong, I did use jalapenos because of earlier reviews. Other than that I followed the recipe exactly and even marianated it for 5 hours. This is not what I remember and was not spicy at all. It was flavorful, but not Jery Chicken which is what I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
This recipe turned out great. I have traveled to jamaica and wanted to recreate jerk chicken. My only problem was that I couldn't get a habenero pepper. I used jalepenos instead, but it was not spicy enough for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gina

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Champaign, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2009
Wish we could give this 4.5 stars. It was very good, and very flavorful. We cooked it on the grill instead of in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eric and Jenn R.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Northglenn, Colorado, USA
Living In: Sheppard Afb, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
Pretty decent recipe. I couldn't find any habaneros at the grocery store so I substituted 2 table spoons of diced jalapeno's and they had some spice to them but not enough to compel you to grab the closest cold beverage!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lacylue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2009
My family only changed this recipe a bit, but I think the changes made a GREAT end product; everyone absolutely loved it! We doubled the entire sauce recipe except soy sauce (6 Tbsp), used only 1 habenaro, and used 1/2 of a small, yellow onion. Also, we added a couple chunks of frozen mango and about 6 Tbsp of orange juice to the sauce. Served with Red Beans and Rice and roasted cajun corn on the cob.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2009
This was my first time making Jerk Chicken and it was absolutely delicious. I used chicken breast cut up and doubled the sauce. Although I didn’t have allspice I substituted with nutmeg, cinnamon and cloves. I went to the store to pick up some real allspice this morning and going to make this wonderful dish again next week. Great with rice Yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffany

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
Delicious and easy... I used chicken breasts and use this for sandwiches... top it off with pineapple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetPea
Home Town: Saint Charles, Missouri, USA
Living In: O Fallon, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 279) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Jamaican Jerk Chicken

See how to make spicy Jamaican jerk chicken on the grill.

Chef John's Chicken and Rice

See how Chef John makes rich, deeply flavorful arroz con pollo.

Low-Cal Hawaiian Chicken Kabob Dinner

This 600-calorie meal is full of tropical and Asian-infused delights.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States