A Jerky Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2009
This recipe was delicious! I cubed the chicken and added ground ginger, cinnamon, nutmeg, orange and lime juice to the marinade. I also couldn't find a habanero, so had to use a serrano and added some chipotle puree that I had on hand. The chipotle added a really nice flavor to the mix along with some extra heat. After marinading for a few hours we skewered the meat and tossed it on the grill! My husband and I both really enjoyed this recipe - thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sonoko

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Orchard, Washington, USA
Living In: Yakima, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2009
Had to use Sherry Vinegar, and a serrano in place of the habanero. Loved the smell of the marinade, I think it would have been better if I had marinated longer than an hour...not crazy about the allspice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2009
This recipe was fabulous! I followed the recipe exactly (except I grilled instead of broiled) used the marinade for both chicken and shrimp, letting it sit over night. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by squid1624

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Redding, California, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ALFANN02
Reviewed: May 27, 2009
LOVED this recipe. Sub'ed red pepper flakes for the habanero but other than that followed recipe with great results. I let it marinate overnight-lots of flavor. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALFANN02

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2009
Super Easy!! Made chicken skewers for a barbecue and everyone asked for the recipe. Used rice vinegar instead of red wine vinegar as was what was on hand. DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2009
I have never had "jerk chicken" but wow this recipe was amazing...My husband loved it...the extra sauce is a must poured over it... I followed the recipe exactly..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2009
I didn't really dig this recipe so much. The chicken was moist and a little sweet, just not very flavorfull. Check out Jay's jerk chicken instead!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2009
I have made this twice in the last 2 weeks. I love it! It tastes even better the next day. I didn't use a habanero because they didn't have any plus I wasn;t sure if it would be too spicey for my kids, just used a serrano pepper but other than that...I followed the recipes exactly and even my kids love it. A keeper for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
If I could give this recipe 4.5 stars, I would. Overall, this recipe was a great recipe for jerk chicken. My only issue with it was the pepper. My husband and I love spicy food being that we are both from tropical regions but this was a bit TOO spicy for us. I recommend reducing the pepper to HALF of a pepper and I also recommend adding a few small pieces of tropical fruit, such as pineapple, kiwi, or mango to the marinade.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
LOVE LOVE LOVE This recipe! This was really easy to make and healthy. I make it all the time for my husband who is diabetic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Provo, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 281) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Jamaican Jerk Chicken

See how to make spicy Jamaican jerk chicken on the grill.

Chef John's Jerk Chicken Wings

Caramelized chicken wings marinated in spicy Jamaican jerk seasonings.

Chef John's Chicken and Rice

See how Chef John makes rich, deeply flavorful arroz con pollo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States