A Jerky Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2009
This chicken is ideal in burritos. Combine with a little rice, black beans, monterey jack and mango salsa, and you have a heavenly meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2009
The flavor in this dish is great. The store was out of Habanero peppers, so I got a Jalapeno, and seeded and removed the membrane, since my wife does not like spicy food. Also used dried thyme instead of fresh. This will definitely be on the menu again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2009
Good flavor with just the right amount of spice. I made the marinade for 4 breasts, but only had 2 big frozen breasts. It is important that you reserve some sauce to put on the chicken afterwards. I laid the slices on a bed of creamy garlic chicken rice and it was just the mellow flavor to tone down the whole habenero that I used.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2009
I used this marinade on shrimp and it was delicious. I can handle a bit more spicy than most, and this was perfect. I've had jerk in Central America, however, and this was just not as flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kkat0307

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2009
This recipe is awesome although I had to swap the haibano for cayenne pepper to please everyone tastebuds my daughter loves this chicken
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2009
My husband and I liked this quite a bit. We both felt it needed more heat, so I will double the pepper next time. I adjusted the recipe for two people and there wasn't enough sauce to pour over at the end, so I will increase that next time too. I just cooked mine in a skillet and added the marinade towards the end, just long enough to cook it and get it a bit thick and gooey. It had a very teriyaki-like taste to me. I've never had jerk chicken before, so I don't know if that's normal, but I think it would be great for beef too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2009
I grilled the chicken too! also, I used 2 serrano peppers instead of the habenero and I used a little over a 1/4 teaspoon of ground thyme instead of fresh. this is fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2009
Great recipe! I marinated the chicken for about 4 hours and cooked it on the grill, and it was delicious. I didn't find it too hot at all, and the wife liked it, so we'll be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Messy Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2009
This recipe was delicious! I cubed the chicken and added ground ginger, cinnamon, nutmeg, orange and lime juice to the marinade. I also couldn't find a habanero, so had to use a serrano and added some chipotle puree that I had on hand. The chipotle added a really nice flavor to the mix along with some extra heat. After marinading for a few hours we skewered the meat and tossed it on the grill! My husband and I both really enjoyed this recipe - thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sonoko

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Orchard, Washington, USA
Living In: Yakima, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2009
Had to use Sherry Vinegar, and a serrano in place of the habanero. Loved the smell of the marinade, I think it would have been better if I had marinated longer than an hour...not crazy about the allspice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 279) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Jamaican Jerk Chicken

See how to make spicy Jamaican jerk chicken on the grill.

Chef John's Chicken and Rice

See how Chef John makes rich, deeply flavorful arroz con pollo.

Low-Cal Hawaiian Chicken Kabob Dinner

This 600-calorie meal is full of tropical and Asian-infused delights.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States