A Homemade San Francisco Treat: Chicken Vermicelli Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
I love this recipe and have used it since my kids were very young and I didn't have ricearoni on hand! I think they were addicted! The only change I make is that I use chicken stock or beef stock rather than cubes, too salty for our taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
really good and easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cape May Court House, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
I followed the recipe but used a skillet to make it. The seasoning is perfect. I wouldn't change a thing. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: West Deptford, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cape May Court House, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
Super easy and fast...tastes great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
I have done this for method of many, many years. I doctor up the spices according to what we having for main entree. My favorite recipe is to make a lemon/kalamata olive/feta chicken dish and when the rice is ready to serve add a bit of lemon zest and a squeeze of lemon--top of each serving with a bit of feta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Albans, Vermont, USA
Living In: Bakersfield, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
What can I say...This was DELICIOUS! So simple to make and waaaaay better tasting than the box stuff. Because I decided to make this on a whim, I didn't have any vermicelli, so I subbed orzo, and that worked out fine. This is a definite keeper~YUM! Thanks, SHORECOOK, for sharing another winner! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
Cooked this in our dutch oven last night and it turned out better than I expected. Surprisingly Easy, for a weeknight side...The only thing I might do next time is just up the spices a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jamestown, Rhode Island, USA
Photo by Lela
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
Excellent rice dish! Shorecook, I never buy the Rice a Roni because it has soy in it. My family loves rice and this was a keeper. My son had two heaping servings and my husband remarked the rice was really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lela

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
Hey, SHORECOOK, you'll never believe what I did to your wonderful recipe! I made it as directed using a basmati brown rice mixture. Then I added a touch of salt and pepper, a can of tuna (yes, I said tuna fish--from Costco), and just a very small amount of mayo. It was wonderful! So I made your side dish into a main dish that way, and I've already been told to make it again that very same way. Who knew?! I loved the smell of the rice cooking because it took me way back in all those years when we first started using Rice A Roni! Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2014
Hubby and I are so HAPPY, I am done buying Rice O Foni ! ! I used basmati rice & tumeric, Excellent! Perfect seasonings. SO EASY:) Thank you SHORECOOK! Can't wait to try it with Spanish rice!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty Cakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Chicken and Rice

See how Chef John makes rich, deeply flavorful arroz con pollo.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States