A Homemade San Francisco Treat: Chicken Vermicelli Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
Kids DEVOURED it. Simple, tasty and with a veggie side makes a fabulously stick to your ribs kinda meal. Loved it. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christopher Norman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
Yum! Made this for dinner, and it was really good. I used orzo, as I didn't have any vermicelli pasta. Also, I did not have bouillon granules, only cubes. So I used two cubes. Loved this, it was easy to make, and tasted just like Rice-A-Roni.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2014
I made this as written but added a little more garlic powder. Very good! Family approved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie Click

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2014
My family had no suspicion that it wasn't real Rice a Roni, and I feel better that it is more homemade. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
made a written I thought it had no flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2014
Hubby and I are so HAPPY, I am done buying Rice O Foni ! ! I used basmati rice & tumeric, Excellent! Perfect seasonings. SO EASY:) Thank you SHORECOOK! Can't wait to try it with Spanish rice!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty Cakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
Hey, SHORECOOK, you'll never believe what I did to your wonderful recipe! I made it as directed using a basmati brown rice mixture. Then I added a touch of salt and pepper, a can of tuna (yes, I said tuna fish--from Costco), and just a very small amount of mayo. It was wonderful! So I made your side dish into a main dish that way, and I've already been told to make it again that very same way. Who knew?! I loved the smell of the rice cooking because it took me way back in all those years when we first started using Rice A Roni! Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lela
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
Excellent rice dish! Shorecook, I never buy the Rice a Roni because it has soy in it. My family loves rice and this was a keeper. My son had two heaping servings and my husband remarked the rice was really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lela

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
Cooked this in our dutch oven last night and it turned out better than I expected. Surprisingly Easy, for a weeknight side...The only thing I might do next time is just up the spices a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jamestown, Rhode Island, USA
Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
What can I say...This was DELICIOUS! So simple to make and waaaaay better tasting than the box stuff. Because I decided to make this on a whim, I didn't have any vermicelli, so I subbed orzo, and that worked out fine. This is a definite keeper~YUM! Thanks, SHORECOOK, for sharing another winner! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Chicken and Rice

See how Chef John makes rich, deeply flavorful arroz con pollo.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States