A Hearty Green Bean and Sausage Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2008
I used fresh green beans which gave it a nice crunchy texture. I found it too salty and will probably leave out the middle layer of french fried onions the next time around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midland, Texas, USA
Living In: Norman, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2008
It was ok, I agree that it needs something then other what is listed. If I try it again I'm going to add mushrooms and use can beans. The frozen ones just didn't work for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DBLEOANGEL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Odenton, Maryland, USA
Living In: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2008
okay but boring
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2008
A great twist on a traditional recipe. This recipe is now a requested dish during family events. I also added water chestnuts to the dish to give it some crunch! Myself and all others who have tried it, agree that the water chestnuts were a good addition. Give it a shot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edina, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Bloomington, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2008
I used half the sausage, but added a 10 oz package of sliced mushrooms and about 3/4 of a small box of frozen spinach that was defrosted & squeezed out. Lots of compliments at Thanksgiving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2008
I tried this because I have had it with the traditional green bean casserole. This was a nice alternative. I used reduced sodium cream of chicken soup instead of mushroom. My grandfather couldn't say enough about this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
This came out great. The hit of the evening. We used apple-pork sausage which was delicious. We don't really like onions so we substituted crutons which worked very well. Next time I think we're going to saute some mushrooms in with the sausage to add a little extra, but this was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
Served this at a Christmas dinner for 23 people. It was declared a winner by everyone.The sausage brought looks of surprise by many, but all thought it added to the flavor. I used canned beans and added an extra can. I ,also, added slivered almonds to the beans for some extra crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2007
I think I liked this version better than traditional green bean casserole, but I'm giving it four stars because some of my other tasters really preferred no meat in their veggie side dish. I substituted cream of chicken soup for the cream of mushroom and canned green beans for the frozen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2007
I just tried this recipe for the first time this past Thanksgiving and it was fabulous! Everyone loved it. I followed the recipe as listed with only one variation: I used french-style cut green beans which are a bit finer when served. Otherwise, this recipe is a keeper for me and my family and I HIGHLY recommend it to anyone looking to try a hearty and delicious green bean casserole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Green Bean Casserole

See how to make classic French onion and green bean casserole.

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

Campbell's Original Green Bean Casserole

Update the classic holiday dish with bacon, red peppers, or almonds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States