A Great Pepper Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
As other reviewers suggested, I cut the recipe in half and made several modifications. Since I'm vegetarian, I used tofu pepperoni, left out the mushrooms (personal preference), and added cherry tomatoes, cauliflower and artichoke hearts. Lastly, to try and reduce the fat I only used a couple of tablespoons of olive oil and some light Italian dressing. Served for a large dinner party (15) and the entire thing was almost completely finished. I personally found it "okay". I really liked the addition of the artichokes and cauliflower, but was less keen on the cherry tomatoes. I also found that the cheeses got kind of soft - but, not in a good way. It was as though the marinate melted them a bit even though the dish was left in the fridge to marinate for 3 days. Next time I might try and make a vegan version and leave out all the cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
This salad is awesome!! Followed the directions exactly, but I cut the recipe in half. Made this for my son's 12th birthday party and all the adults loved it (about 15 adults). Will definitely make again. P.S. I added a little salami.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2010
I immediately had a very bad stomachache that lasted for more than 6 hours after eating this. And it didn't taste that great anyway
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PUIFAIS

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2009
While I very much liked the concept and the taste of this antipasto-type salad, I felt it was too heavy on the meats, cheeses and oils. I halved the amounts of meat and cheese (I also preferred hard salami). I used artichoke hearts instead of mushrooms, although you could use both. I liked the idea of having more vegetables, and less meat and cheese. I also whisked the oil, garlic and oregano separately, with a bit of red wine vinegar. That way, the salad could be dressed as light or heavy as you would like. I also made sure that the peppers were drained very well, as that may have added too much liquid. It is very tasty, and I would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kesslkat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2009
First of all this is not just my opinion. I served this to a group of 20 and only received a couple of positive opinions. It is also rather expensive, but I wouldn't have minded if it tasted better. It has a very strong flavor that permeates everything. Very sorry-I don't like to give a negative review but because of the expense I felt I needed to say something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2009
This recipe was AWESOME!!! The only things I did and would do diffrent is. 1) I added a handfull of snipped FRESH basil! It really added a nice flavor to the mix! 2) HALF the recipe as this does make a TON!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy Stech

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2009
First of all, a 5 minute prep time is ridiculous! I would like to know how this was accomplished!! Secondly, way too expensive to make on a regular basis, and I would definitely cut down on a lot of the ingredients--too much cheese, too much pepperoncini, etc. I would definitely make my own version of this again, with WAY less ingredients. Also, I would cut it in half, unless, of course, you are making this for a cookout where 50 people will be attending!!! For your own family, I'd cut it in half and THEN some. Also, too much oil.......not necessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2009
Loved this recipe. I made it for a cocktail party. Took the advice of others~used half pepperoni & half salami, omitted the Swiss, otherwise kept everything else the same. (I also think artichoke hearts would be good in this) Received lots of compliments. I like it best as this kind of salad. However, I did add rotini, some red wine vinegar and more oil, oregano, garlic to make a pasta salad for a swim meet a couple days later. Since this makes such a large amount I will use this salad as one of my recipes for our teacher back to school luncheon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lkj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, Michigan, USA
Living In: Williamsburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2009
This was delicious, but way too expensive to make on a regular basis. If I can figure a way to cut costs, I would make it again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Crowley, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2009
I served this at our Kentucky Derby Party... AMAZING salad that won rave reviews. Will be making again and again this summer. Don't change a thing to the recipe and it will come out perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by INGRIDLIV

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spinach Caprese Salad

This delicious update of the Italian salad adds fresh spinach.

Greek Salad I

Summer vegetables dressed in a tangy, refreshing vinaigrette.

Southwestern Potato and Corn Salad Dinner

This tasty veggie-centric meal only tastes expensive!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States