A Great Pepper Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
As other reviewers suggested, I cut the recipe in half and made several modifications. Since I'm vegetarian, I used tofu pepperoni, left out the mushrooms (personal preference), and added cherry tomatoes, cauliflower and artichoke hearts. Lastly, to try and reduce the fat I only used a couple of tablespoons of olive oil and some light Italian dressing. Served for a large dinner party (15) and the entire thing was almost completely finished. I personally found it "okay". I really liked the addition of the artichokes and cauliflower, but was less keen on the cherry tomatoes. I also found that the cheeses got kind of soft - but, not in a good way. It was as though the marinate melted them a bit even though the dish was left in the fridge to marinate for 3 days. Next time I might try and make a vegan version and leave out all the cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
This salad is awesome!! Followed the directions exactly, but I cut the recipe in half. Made this for my son's 12th birthday party and all the adults loved it (about 15 adults). Will definitely make again. P.S. I added a little salami.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2010
I immediately had a very bad stomachache that lasted for more than 6 hours after eating this. And it didn't taste that great anyway
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PUIFAIS

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2009
While I very much liked the concept and the taste of this antipasto-type salad, I felt it was too heavy on the meats, cheeses and oils. I halved the amounts of meat and cheese (I also preferred hard salami). I used artichoke hearts instead of mushrooms, although you could use both. I liked the idea of having more vegetables, and less meat and cheese. I also whisked the oil, garlic and oregano separately, with a bit of red wine vinegar. That way, the salad could be dressed as light or heavy as you would like. I also made sure that the peppers were drained very well, as that may have added too much liquid. It is very tasty, and I would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kesslkat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2009
First of all this is not just my opinion. I served this to a group of 20 and only received a couple of positive opinions. It is also rather expensive, but I wouldn't have minded if it tasted better. It has a very strong flavor that permeates everything. Very sorry-I don't like to give a negative review but because of the expense I felt I needed to say something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2009
This recipe was AWESOME!!! The only things I did and would do diffrent is. 1) I added a handfull of snipped FRESH basil! It really added a nice flavor to the mix! 2) HALF the recipe as this does make a TON!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2009
First of all, a 5 minute prep time is ridiculous! I would like to know how this was accomplished!! Secondly, way too expensive to make on a regular basis, and I would definitely cut down on a lot of the ingredients--too much cheese, too much pepperoncini, etc. I would definitely make my own version of this again, with WAY less ingredients. Also, I would cut it in half, unless, of course, you are making this for a cookout where 50 people will be attending!!! For your own family, I'd cut it in half and THEN some. Also, too much oil.......not necessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2009
Loved this recipe. I made it for a cocktail party. Took the advice of others~used half pepperoni & half salami, omitted the Swiss, otherwise kept everything else the same. (I also think artichoke hearts would be good in this) Received lots of compliments. I like it best as this kind of salad. However, I did add rotini, some red wine vinegar and more oil, oregano, garlic to make a pasta salad for a swim meet a couple days later. Since this makes such a large amount I will use this salad as one of my recipes for our teacher back to school luncheon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lkj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, Michigan, USA
Living In: Williamsburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2009
This was delicious, but way too expensive to make on a regular basis. If I can figure a way to cut costs, I would make it again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Crowley, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2009
I served this at our Kentucky Derby Party... AMAZING salad that won rave reviews. Will be making again and again this summer. Don't change a thing to the recipe and it will come out perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by INGRIDLIV

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spinach Caprese Salad

This delicious update of the Italian salad adds fresh spinach.

Southwestern Potato and Corn Salad Dinner

This tasty veggie-centric meal only tastes expensive!

German Potato Salad

This tasty German-style potato salad is served warm.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States