A Good Easy Garlic Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 22, 2006
Highly recommened for the busy mom/dad! What's better than a fast, easy to cook nutritious meal that the whole family loves?! I made this for the first time tonight, and my husband and kids loved it and asked when I will be making it again. I also made a gravey using the chicken bits in the pan and it turned out delicious (I think the gravey made the meal). Topped the chicken and mashed potatoes with it and served with a side of steamed vegies. Perfect fast, easy, delicious, healthy dinner for those nights when you get home from after school sports, etc. Forget the run to McDonalds on the way home from baseball!***UPDATE***I still make this once a week and when my kids ask what's for dinner and I tell them this, they get very excited! Be sure to try it with the gravey...After the chicken is done cooking add 3T butter and melt it, then add 3T flour and use a spatula or whisk to stir the flour and scrape up the chicken bits, the darker the rue the better, then whisk in about a cup and a half of chicken stock, more or less depending on how thick you like it. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
921 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2002
Love the recipe! Here's a way to keep the flavor, but lose the saltiness that many reviewers mentioned. Just dice about half an onion, and use fresh chopped garlic (to your taste). That way the only salt product is the seasoning salt. I also added some fresh ground black pepper. Be careful with the cooking time if you use fresh onion and garlic. I cook mine until it all browns up nicely (which makes a nice sauce in the pan...great, if serving with rice), but you need to make sure the chicken is cooked through, esp. if some of the breasts are very thick. Even with these minor changes...it is still quick, easy, and a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
774 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2003
This recipe was wonderful. It smelled so good cooking, I could hardly wait to taste it. I did alter the recipe a little. I used lots of fresh garlic, and rubbed all the powdered seasonings on the chicken. I let the butter melt in some olive oil and added the garlic. After the chicken browned a little, I poured in a can of chicken broth let it simmer for a few until I stirred in 1/4 cup of flour. It made a great sauce! I served It over egg noodles. Loved every bit of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
577 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2005
Loved the basic concept and then took some ideas from the other reviews. I used olive oil, rather than butter. Tossed in a big handful of chopped onion and a few teaspoons of already minced garlic from a jar while the chicken sauted. After the chicken breasts were done, put in a can of chicken broth and let everything simmer while I finished the rest of the meal. When the meal was ready, removed the chicken and made gravy out of what was left in the pan. It was delicious and has become my favorite way to cook chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
335 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2003
Very good and so easy. I liked that I only had to use ingredients I had on hand. I Followed advice of another and used fresh chopped onion and garlic instead of powdered. I sauteed chicken until browned on both sides, then I added a 8.4 oz. box of low sodium chicken broth. I covered it and let cook over medium heat until chicken was done. This made the chicken very moist and tender. Then I removed chicken from the pan. I added about 1 TBL. of corn starch mixed with about 1-1 1/2 c. cold water to the remaining butter and onion in the pan. I cooked this whisking the entire time until thick and bubbly. This made an excellent sauce to pour over the chicken. I served it with parmesan egg noodles on the side, but it would also be good with the chicken and sauce served over plain egg noodles or mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
266 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wineaux

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2006
I've been seasoning my chicken like this for more years than I can remember, even when I'm adding cooked chicken to other recipes. One thing I do differently is to brown the chicken, both sides, on med-high heat, then reduce heat and simmer, adding a little water if necessary for a good 10-15 minutes. Juicy and tender every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
163 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kathleen

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kenora, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: May 16, 2003
I have to agree with the reviewer who said this is only a good recipe if you don't know how to cook. Personally, I wouldn't even call this a recipe. If you want something just as easy with less calories, simply sprinkle the seasons on the chicken breasts and bake in the oven. I wished I would have saved myself the calories. It wasn't worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
135 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2008
I put the seasoning mixture on the chicken prior to cooking it. After it was nicely browned I added 1 cup of chicken broth. Tasted good. I'd have given it a 5 if it had mentioned adding water or broth to prevent burning...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
91 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Biloxi, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2003
Yum Yum Yum!!! I down scaled it to two servings and added some worcestershire sauce to the pan while frying. Also, to keep chicken from drying out, I lowered the heat to simmer and covered it for ten minutes after I browned them on both sides for 10 mins. This gave me plenty of time to make the rice and bake some rolls. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2003
I make my chicken and pork like this all the time. It is definately one of my favorite ways to prepare chicken. Thank you for such a great recipe starter idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 999) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

A Good Easy Garlic Chicken

See how to make incredibly quick-and-easy garlic chicken.

Easy Garlic Broiled Chicken

This delicious dish is ready in less than 30 minutes.

Slow Cooker Lemon Garlic Chicken

Meet the perfect weeknight one-pot chicken dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States