A Fragrant, Spicy Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 16, 2005
Excellent. This is a very forgiving recipe - you can play around with the ratio of lentils to rice and the amount of vegetables and spices. Thanks Julia!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2005
This is delightful! Absolutly worth all the effort and time involved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Longmont, Colorado, USA
Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2006
This was so delicious and healthy I loved ever bite of this recipe and my husband who only likes meat loved this vegetarian dish :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2006
I'm only giving this recipe 4 stars because I made a few small changes...as I made it, we would give it five stars. It tasted like something you'd get from an authentic Indian restaurant! I didn't add the green onions or peas to the rice; I thought they would overcook, so I added them to the lentil mixture just before I stirred in the rice. I also added a big handful of coarsely chopped cilantro at this point. I substituted chicken broth for the vegetable (it's all I had), and found that the lentil mixture took an extra half cup of broth. Otherwise I followed the recipe to a T. This is a delicious, healthy and versatile recipe; next time I'm going to add some cauliflower florettes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2007
This was a great recipe -- I, too, substituted chicken broth for the veg broth. I loved the various spices and the crunchiness of the almonds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2007
This was very good. I LOVE all the spices and I used quite a bit. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
I loved this recipe! I'm eating it right now and everybody at work is commenting on how good it smells and looks! I added a little corn and carrot and some cooked chopped shrimp too!It wasvery time consuming to make though!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2008
This was quite good! I made it without the lentils becasue I served a lentil salad along side of it, but I am sure they will be tasty in it next time. I left out the peppers, and I think raisins will a good addition next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brookline, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2008
I changed a lot of the veggie ingredient in this recipe because I didn't have them all on hand. Overall the flavor of the rice was great. This is the first time I have used my garam marsala and it was a fragment, tasty spice blend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2009
Flabors are outstanding! I omitted the lentils and extra liquid and simply sauteed the vegetables and spices (including onions and peas) and served the vegetable mixture over the spicy rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Spicy Rice Noodle Salad

See how to make a simple, spicy and delicious rice noodle salad.

Spicy Spanish-Style Rice

See how to make spicy Spanish-style rice, a terrific all-purpose side dish.

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States