A Fragrant, Spicy Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2006
I'm only giving this recipe 4 stars because I made a few small changes...as I made it, we would give it five stars. It tasted like something you'd get from an authentic Indian restaurant! I didn't add the green onions or peas to the rice; I thought they would overcook, so I added them to the lentil mixture just before I stirred in the rice. I also added a big handful of coarsely chopped cilantro at this point. I substituted chicken broth for the vegetable (it's all I had), and found that the lentil mixture took an extra half cup of broth. Otherwise I followed the recipe to a T. This is a delicious, healthy and versatile recipe; next time I'm going to add some cauliflower florettes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2006
This was so delicious and healthy I loved ever bite of this recipe and my husband who only likes meat loved this vegetarian dish :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2005
Excellent. This is a very forgiving recipe - you can play around with the ratio of lentils to rice and the amount of vegetables and spices. Thanks Julia!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
This was delicious. I did add some onion while cooking the mushrooms. And I added a little extra cumin, coriander, turmeric, and cardamom (I like spice). This is definitely going to be something I start making fairly regularly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2005
This is delightful! Absolutly worth all the effort and time involved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Longmont, Colorado, USA
Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
Very yummy rice! This does take a bit of time to prepare...I realized after already committing to cooking this that I only had green lentils (ALWAYS have red lentils!!) and also had only red and yellow peppers! So, used those and did not cook either the rice or veggies for close to the 20 minutes called for. I also left out the cilantro sprigs for garnish as hubby and I both dislike cilantro (ALOT)! Aside from that, great rice...we really enjoyed it, thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANJACKSON

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pickering, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada
Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
This was good, but needed just a little tweaking. I decreased the liquid in the rice, and increased it in the lentil mixture. I used parsley instead of cilantro since I had it on hand. If using as a side dish, I'd say this makes at least 8 servings. This is a bit labor-intensive, but the results are very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
Big hit with the whole family! I can't help it, I always feel like recipes need more spice and other flavors, so I chuck a lot of extras into everything I cook. Either way, this was fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2008
I changed a lot of the veggie ingredient in this recipe because I didn't have them all on hand. Overall the flavor of the rice was great. This is the first time I have used my garam marsala and it was a fragment, tasty spice blend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
I loved this recipe! I'm eating it right now and everybody at work is commenting on how good it smells and looks! I added a little corn and carrot and some cooked chopped shrimp too!It wasvery time consuming to make though!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spicy Rice Noodle Salad

See how to make a simple, spicy and delicious rice noodle salad.

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Spicy Spanish-Style Rice

See how to make spicy Spanish-style rice, a terrific all-purpose side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States