A Firefighter's Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 12, 2007
We improvised on this, instead of bread, we used bread crumbs, 1 cup and a half, instead of barbecue sauce, we used ketchup, these were the ingredients we had on hand. Quick and easy, with pretty much all the ingredients in the fridge, this will not disappoint!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ARCELI6

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2007
If I could give this 10 stars, I would. This is meatloaf to perfection!!! It is just yummy and everything about it is perfect, taste, texture, everything. I halved the recipe for two persons and instead of 60 + 15 minutes, I cooked this 45 + 15 minutes. Turned out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
82 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Creston, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2007
I have tried alot of meatloaf recipes and never found one that could type my Nana's!!! But this one is really good -I didn't change a thing and it will definitely be going into our "favorites" cookbook!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tulia, Texas, USA
Living In: Dumas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2008
This was very good. I doubled the recipe, used homemade breadcrumbs (whole grain/french bread combo) and added about 2 cups shredded colby-jack cheese. I used a mixture of bbq sauce, Dijon mustard, Worcestershire, ketchup and black pepper for the topping and baked it as one "cake" in a bundt pan. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2007
This is absolutely wonderful. I made it just as the instructions tell you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cat

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Illinois, USA
Living In: Grand Junction, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2008
very tasty! I added an egg to keep it together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kara Ceschini

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dro, Trentino-Alto Adige, Italy
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
Easy enough to prepare, but not as flavorful as I would've liked. I followed the recipe exactly, but should've trusted my "scratches-head" instinct at only adding the soggy bread, and not using a breadcrumb/egg as binder. I like my meatloaf to stay together well enough when sliced that I can use it for sandwiches as leftovers, and this one was too crumbly for my liking. I enjoyed the funky change of using BBQ sauce, rather than ketchup or marinara, on top, so that got thumbs-up from the family, but otherwise, I think I'll go w/ a different recipe next go around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2007
If you like the taste of Hunt's Manwich sauce, you will like this. The salsa adds the pepper kick, and it has just a slight sweetness from the BBQ sauce. This was very juicy and not too firm and bready. I used dried minced onion and it worked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
I really liked this meatloaf. I have been trying to make good meatloaf for years and was either not satisfied with the taste or not satisfied with the texture. This meatloaf had it all, taste, texture and it was moist. This is now going to be my meatloaf recipe. The only thing I changed was I used bread crumbs (1/2 cup) instead of the bread because I didnt have any.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
I loved this meatloaf. The salsa adds a nice twist and the soaked bread keeps it moist. I add a few of my personal favorite spices like celery salt and also fresh italian parsley, but it has become my husbands favorite meatloaf recipe. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 126) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Coco's Meatloaf

See how to make a comfort food classic, Nashville-style.

Easy Meatloaf

A simple, no-fail beef meatloaf with a tangy topping that's ready in no time.

The Best Meatloaf I've Ever Made

Discover the simple secrets to amazing, beefy meatloaf.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States