A Drama Queen's Pavlova Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2005
A good basic recipe, but with these modifications: 1) I prefer it without coconut. 2) Use unsweetened whipped cream. The reason that a pav is such a spectacular dessert is the contrast: sweet, marshmallowy meringue, mild cream, tangy fruit. Sweeten the cream, and it will be too sweet. 3) Try spooning on passionfruit pulp if you can find fresh passionfruit. Not only is it traditional, but it’s the perfect foil for the pav: tangy, and crunchy. Passionfruit can be used alone, or in addition to the other fruit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Morena

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2005
i love this recipe! It is sooooo good and has just the right flavor. But you are going to need more than just a 9 in dish to make this. I use a 15 in and it works great. And dont use passionfruit pulp because it tastes bad. You can use some almonds instead of cocanut to make it taste great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2006
This Pavola was the best I've ever made -- I served it at a luncheon recently and everyone raved about it and immediately requested the recipe. The dessert is easy to make and presents beautifully. This recipe officially replaces the Pavola recipe I've used for the last 15 years.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2006
I had 3 egg whites to use up so I decided to make this recipe (cut in half). It was not what I expected. The beaten eggwhites just fit into one pan so if you make a whole recipe you're going to need 2 pans. Also, it stuck to the pan and I had to break it out (perhaps this was my fault because I greased the pan when it didn't say to do that). And finally, the coconut was just "wrong".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda S.

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
The cream on a paavlova should never be sweetened. Just about a quarter of a teaspoon of icing sugar should be added to take away the edge. This pavlova was too sweet with the sweetened cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2008
In response to using a pan: you should use a cookie sheet, the pavlova is free standing as it bakes, hence drawing a 9" circle on parchment. You can also sprinkle cold water on a cookie sheet and pile the egg white mix and form into a 9" round... then bake at 300 f for 1 hour and continue as per instructions. I think the unsweetened cream is a must or very lightly sweetened or just add some pure vanilla extract about 1/2 tsp. Mmmm so delicious. I am actually presently baking 2 in the oven, but used the more simple recipe that gets lower ratings, but am baking it at 300 f. I used 5 egg whites to serve 12.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Canadiancook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2007
This recipe turned out a great pav and I didn't have castor sugar so used regular. I topped with sweetened passionfruit pulp to make it really traditional (for our Japanese guest) and it was divine. Mum flakes chocolate over hers but for summer, you can't beat strawberries!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
Great recipe! Great texture! New and unique (in the US at least!) It is an easy recipe that puts to use leftover egg whites! I like to make this after I have made eggnog (recipe from this site) or traditional vanilla pudding (recipe also from this site). You could make it any flavor I believe. I add amaretto liquor to mine to make it almond flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bessie
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
This was a HIT with my family and friends!! I made this for a summer treat and quickly found out that I have to make more than just one each time I make it! My kids can eat an entire Pavlova by themselves (a 3 and 6 year old)! We love this recipe and everyone in the family now has a copy of it! Thanks for sharing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bessie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
Not bad, I am an Aussie that lives in the US. Pavlova is probably my favorite dessert. I think my Mom makes one of the best Pav's around. I LOVE passionfruit and it is the real/traditional topping for Pavlova. Passionfruit makes this dessert, it is not the same without it; in fact it would just be a meringue topped with fruit. I LOVE PASSIONFRUIT, and that's how REAL Aussie's make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Pavlova

Crisp meringue layer topped with whipped cream and fresh fruit.

Fresh Strawberry Pavlova

Watch Chef John make a beautiful strawberry dessert from Down Under.

Cookie-Crusted Peach Cobbler

What's cooking in Hagerstown? Cindy's ultimate summer dessert, peach cobbler.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States