A Drama Queen's Pavlova Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2005
A good basic recipe, but with these modifications: 1) I prefer it without coconut. 2) Use unsweetened whipped cream. The reason that a pav is such a spectacular dessert is the contrast: sweet, marshmallowy meringue, mild cream, tangy fruit. Sweeten the cream, and it will be too sweet. 3) Try spooning on passionfruit pulp if you can find fresh passionfruit. Not only is it traditional, but it’s the perfect foil for the pav: tangy, and crunchy. Passionfruit can be used alone, or in addition to the other fruit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Morena

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2005
i love this recipe! It is sooooo good and has just the right flavor. But you are going to need more than just a 9 in dish to make this. I use a 15 in and it works great. And dont use passionfruit pulp because it tastes bad. You can use some almonds instead of cocanut to make it taste great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2006
I had 3 egg whites to use up so I decided to make this recipe (cut in half). It was not what I expected. The beaten eggwhites just fit into one pan so if you make a whole recipe you're going to need 2 pans. Also, it stuck to the pan and I had to break it out (perhaps this was my fault because I greased the pan when it didn't say to do that). And finally, the coconut was just "wrong".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda S.

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2006
This Pavola was the best I've ever made -- I served it at a luncheon recently and everyone raved about it and immediately requested the recipe. The dessert is easy to make and presents beautifully. This recipe officially replaces the Pavola recipe I've used for the last 15 years.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
The cream on a paavlova should never be sweetened. Just about a quarter of a teaspoon of icing sugar should be added to take away the edge. This pavlova was too sweet with the sweetened cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2007
This recipe turned out a great pav and I didn't have castor sugar so used regular. I topped with sweetened passionfruit pulp to make it really traditional (for our Japanese guest) and it was divine. Mum flakes chocolate over hers but for summer, you can't beat strawberries!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
Great recipe..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 3gr8kidscookin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2008
This is a great receipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2008
In response to using a pan: you should use a cookie sheet, the pavlova is free standing as it bakes, hence drawing a 9" circle on parchment. You can also sprinkle cold water on a cookie sheet and pile the egg white mix and form into a 9" round... then bake at 300 f for 1 hour and continue as per instructions. I think the unsweetened cream is a must or very lightly sweetened or just add some pure vanilla extract about 1/2 tsp. Mmmm so delicious. I am actually presently baking 2 in the oven, but used the more simple recipe that gets lower ratings, but am baking it at 300 f. I used 5 egg whites to serve 12.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Canadiancook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2008
This recipe is great. Use unsweetened cream and tart fruit and it is a winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fresh Strawberry Pavlova

Watch Chef John make a beautiful strawberry dessert from Down Under.

Fresh Cherry Cobbler

See how to make a simple cherry cobbler using fresh not canned cherries.

Melon Ice Candy

See how to make refreshing homemade cantaloupe pops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States