A Drama Queen's Pavlova Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2009
I made this for a twilight movie party a girl in my class had. I LOVED it, EVERONE LOVED it! try it w/ pineapple chunks its good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by twilight girl
Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2008
I chose this recipe b/c it didn't call for cornstarch like the others (didn't have any on hand), and it turned out great, dinner guests really enjoyed it. I followed the recipe for the meringue exactly (going with the no-coconut option) and it made 2 glass pie dishes, not just 1, so I get to serve pavlova again with tonight's dinner! Very light. A little sweet for me, but I think that's the point of the meringue, right? I wish I had whipped my own cream, but I didn't have any on hand. A favorite alternative for me is the fat-free cool whip b/c it's not too sweet (like I said, I'm not into overly-sweet things).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2008
I made this recipe today (Father's Day) and it was a hit. I had been looking for a Pavlova recipe that called for vinegar, as I was told this was a key ingredient in making the meringue crispy on the outside and marshmallowy on the inside. I did follow the suggestion I read here of reducing the sugar in the whipped cream, I only added about a tablespoon of powdered sugar to my whipping cream. I guess if you must buy the cream all whipped from the store, that would be hard to do. I prefer whipping my own, it's cheaper and not that hard to do, plus I have more control. Anyway, I love this dessert. Thanks for posting the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2008
This recipe is great. Use unsweetened cream and tart fruit and it is a winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2008
In response to using a pan: you should use a cookie sheet, the pavlova is free standing as it bakes, hence drawing a 9" circle on parchment. You can also sprinkle cold water on a cookie sheet and pile the egg white mix and form into a 9" round... then bake at 300 f for 1 hour and continue as per instructions. I think the unsweetened cream is a must or very lightly sweetened or just add some pure vanilla extract about 1/2 tsp. Mmmm so delicious. I am actually presently baking 2 in the oven, but used the more simple recipe that gets lower ratings, but am baking it at 300 f. I used 5 egg whites to serve 12.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Canadiancook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2008
This is a great receipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
Great recipe..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 3gr8kidscookin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2007
This recipe turned out a great pav and I didn't have castor sugar so used regular. I topped with sweetened passionfruit pulp to make it really traditional (for our Japanese guest) and it was divine. Mum flakes chocolate over hers but for summer, you can't beat strawberries!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
The cream on a paavlova should never be sweetened. Just about a quarter of a teaspoon of icing sugar should be added to take away the edge. This pavlova was too sweet with the sweetened cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2006
This Pavola was the best I've ever made -- I served it at a luncheon recently and everyone raved about it and immediately requested the recipe. The dessert is easy to make and presents beautifully. This recipe officially replaces the Pavola recipe I've used for the last 15 years.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Raspberry Pavlova

This beautiful and impressive fresh fruit dessert is so easy to make.

Fresh Strawberry Pavlova

Watch Chef John make a beautiful strawberry dessert from Down Under.

Fresh Cherry Cobbler

See how to make a simple cherry cobbler using fresh not canned cherries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States