A Baker's Secret for Bread Machines Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
Always works for me. This is how I do almost every bread recipe in my bread machine now, the yeast first way is great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kTd86

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fergus Falls, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
Im so happy that I found this recipe! Excellent! I followed some advice and added olive oil instead of lard and added 2 tbsps sugar for some added sweetness. I also didnt have bread flour but it turned out great with unbleached all purpose flour. Turned out yummy!! Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
Like many, I subbed margarine for the lard, put the yeast on top and added a tablespoon of sugar - and this bread is the best that's come out of my bread machine yet! The crust was actually edible instead of a near-steel casing, and the bread was light and soft instead of almost-gooey. This will definitely be made more often at my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kerri

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greencastle, Indiana, USA
Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2008
This recipe was wonderful. Just put a pinch of sugar in it. Will have to try a different setting on my bread machine and put in more sugar, as it didnt rise as much as I was hoping. My dh loved it, and am doing another loaf right now. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2008
This bread was very easy to make. It has a great texture. Add cinammon for more taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KMYOHO

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2008
I used butter instead of lard and think I halved the salt and tossed in some brown sugar. The loaf was pretty tasteless and fell a bit on top (too much moisture) but it had the best texture of any loaf I've made, so I'll have to study the recipe and see if I can make this basic recipe taste better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda from MA CT NJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilbraham, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Stamford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2008
Exelent used nothing else for 2 weeks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peter077

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pattaya, Chon Buri, Thailand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2008
I mostly am a veggie now, so I used butter for the lard (Lacto-Ovo Veggie) and it turned out okay. Was it great? Not really, just good. It did not revolutionize my bread baking. I really wanted it to, as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy Liedel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Haven, Michigan, USA
Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2007
Horrible texture, weird waxy taste. No sugar to make it rise nicely. Cannot recommend
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Placerville, California, USA
Living In: El Dorado Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
I have been looking for a bread recipe that does not taste like it came out of a bread machine and I have finally found it. I did make a couple of slight variations. I used butter instead of lard and I added a tablespoon of salt and omitted the cinnamon. Other than that I followed the recipe although I am not one to measure anything exactly and it still came out a winner!! I will definitely make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Bread Machine Bread

See how to make the perfect loaf of sandwich bread in your bread machine.

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States