A Baker's Secret for Bread Machines Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2014
I used shortening due to not having any lard, and 1/3 cup of honey. I also use half bread flour, the other half whole wheat. This recipe is great! I have tried so many recipes to use for my bread machine and the bread has come out horrible. This recipe is the one I will always use because I finally am making what I wanted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blondee03

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corydon, Indiana, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
This didn't turn out at all. I did it exactly as said in the recipe, and I got a small, hard, weirdly shaped loaf. Definitely won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2013
I used this dough recipe to make cinnamon rolls, came out awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whitefield, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
It tastes bland. Kids did not like it at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Knox City, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
I followed the recipe but found the bread very bland. The bread did not rise as high as many of the others I've made, but it is very simple & quick to make. I think I will use what's left for toasted bread crumbs, it should be fine for that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pthor

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
I dont understand the prejudice a lot of people seem to have against lard. Since there has been cooking, lard has been used. Granted its not politically correct these days and some say it isnt healthy but I have recipes from my family going back to the early 1800's that use lard and I will continue to use it. This is a wonderful bread recipe, I got a light and very good tasting loaf both with and without the cinnamon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Noblesville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2012
Nope, this is not THE recipe for us....sorry. I have been doing bread machine bread for years and this one? Not so much. Sorry :-(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LOPIEKITTY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waterford, Michigan, USA
Living In: Port Huron, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2012
Just because there are 40 years of master baking, doesn't mean you can run a bread machine. I followed the instructions, but varied the ingredients a bit. Someone said that theirs didn't rise because there was no sugar to feed the yeast, so I added 1T of sugar, substituted butter for the lard, and followed the rest. What I got was a lumpy mass of something that resembled bread, but was tough and salty, even with the added sugar! I couldn't taste the cinnamon at all. I'm trying it again, following the suggestion of cutting the salt in half, and using 1T of honey instead of sugar, and putting the yeast on top of the other ingredients. Toward the end of the kneading cycle I noticed it was several balls of yucky and not all of the flour was incorporated, so I added more water, approx. 1/3C. After adding the water, it looks like a ball of dough, so here's to hoping it rises and survives the punch down. If it tastes good, I'll be making it again, otherwise, I'm looking for a different recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LittleBitFae

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago Heights, Illinois, USA
Living In: Coralville, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
So true
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
It wasn't what I was expecting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Bread Machine Bread

See how to make the perfect loaf of sandwich bread in your bread machine.

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States