A Baker's Secret for Bread Machines Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2004
It's a keeper, BUT with a few alterations. I did it first exactly has laid out, and it was too salty and didn't rise. The second time, I put the yeast in in the traditional way, on top. I also halved the salt, added one tablespoon of honey, and substituted butter for the lard. It turned out great this way!! And I never like homemade bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
233 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JewRican

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2002
This has to be the very best recipe for the bread machine I have ever tried. The side bonus here is that recent medical research has found that lard is a "good fat" and less harmful than most margarines. I recommend this highly. Just a note, I found that setting the crust for light made it more moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
214 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2001
I loved this bread! Substitued olive oil for the lard, and added 1 teaspoon sugar to the mix. Placed a little of the warm water, the sugar and yeast in the bottom of the machine bowl and left to proove for ten minutes before addding the rest of the ingredients. Then baked on fast cycle (or near 2 hour cycle) and light crust selection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
162 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2002
THE RECIPE WAS THE BEST ONE I HAVE HAD FOR MY MACHINE. IT ROSE BEAUTIFULY AND WAS REALLY LIGHT. BUT IT LACKED TASTE. EVEN WITH THE CINNAMON IT WAS TASTELESS. I THINK IT NEEDS SUGAR AND MILK INSTEAD OF WATER.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2000
This is incredibly easy and very good. I've gotten consistent results (used margarine instead of lard) and have made over 5 loaves already! I've even added craisins and walnuts for variety. If I keep making this bread, however, I'll be weighing in at 400 lbs before you know it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2004
I hated the recipes that came with my bread machine and so had quit using it. Now that I've found this recipe I've turned it on again. My husband loves it too. I did add 1 T. of sugar because we like our bread on the slightly sweet side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2005
Finally, a recipe that makes the best buns next to a boxed mix. Added 1T sugar and dry milk powder, also mixed the white flour with whole-grain, and perfect buns again. Thank you. Trust me, I've tried them all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2002
Not quite sure what happened, but something went wrong! I followed the instructions to the word, but the only thing I got was a lumpy mess of flour after the cycle was done. I would say it was my bread machine, but I've made dozens of loaves and nothing like this has ever happened! I will try again, it sounds really good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2001
I Love this recipe, aare there any others like it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2002
My kids loved it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Bread Machine Bread

See how to make the perfect loaf of sandwich bread in your bread machine.

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States