7 Up® Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
This cake was lots better with oil instead of butter. I cooked it on 325 for 70 minutes and also added a teaspoon of baking powder. It was so crispy and crunchy, best pound cake ive ever made! I also tried the butter and will never make it again with butter, only with oil!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jami1979

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
I have tried this recipe twice and each time I have it turned out wonderful the only thing is I wish the glaze but stay on the cake and not run down to the bottom of the pan love it. Katrina
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katrina Taylor

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2014
While I loved the texture of the cake I was disappointed in the huge amount of lemon extract it called for... 2 TBL is way too much...I read it several times and then followed it against my better judgement. The taste is just ok...but has a definite medicine taste..and I did use high quality extract. I will make this again but use vanilla and perhaps almond...or a squeeze of real lemon. Other than that it's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2014
The cake was very good but it took over 90 minutes to bake and have that nice hard crust that I remember. I think using a thick fancy bundt pan was the culprit. By the time it cooked long enough it came out a little dry. Next time I will use a regular cake pan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen Lovett

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Manchester, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
I love this recipe. My aunt Syble has made 7up cake for the past 50 years or so. It has become a holiday favorite in our family. It is worth noting that this is essentially a pound cake. That means that, by design, the texture is denser and heavier than a layer cake. That means that, generally speaking, smaller servings are in order. The recipe here is basically the same as my aunt's, except that instead of using 1-1/2 cups of butter, 1 cup of butter and 1/2-cup of all-vegetable shortening are used in the cake. The shortening changes the texture slightly, giving the cake a smoother texture. Another difference is in the glaze. Instead of using milk, melted butter is used; and 1-2 Tbsp. of lemon juice is used instead of vanilla extract. If the glaze is too thick, either additional butter or lemon juice can be added. The lemon juice flavor in the glaze complements the flavor of the cake. I prefer 7up, but my mother sometimes uses Mountain Dew instead of 7up, which yields a slightly different flavor; but delicious, nonetheless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AlSwilling

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2014
I received this recipie, a Bundt cake pan and a bottle of lemon extract as a gift at my wedding shower 28 years ago and it is a favorite at our house. I do add freshly grated lemon peel, and don't use the glaze, just a bit of powdered sugar oner the top. Always super moist and a lemony treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
Pretty good. I made this for a coworker's birthday and it stayed in the freezer at work until we were ready to sing to him. I didn't get a chance to eat it right away but I tried it later that day and it was pretty good. It's a little heavy, similar to a pound cake, and nice and lemony. It didn't go all that quickly, though, so it wasn't as much of a hit as some of the cakes I've brought to work. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MS.Marion
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
I made it using recipe, added glaze from another (powdered sugar, 7-up, vanilla extract), It was mmmm mmmm good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Golden Rum Cake

A yummy, rummy Bundt cake with a simple butter-rum glaze.

Coco-Cola Cake III

Turn cocoa and cola into a 5-star chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States