5 Minute Microwave Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
I was very skeptical of this... really? cornbread in 5 minutes? but it was GREAT! I added a little more sugar and a little more oil because i like moist cornbread. I put it in for 3 minutes in my microwave (900 watt) and it came out perfect. I'll definitely be making this in the future!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
Decided at the last minute to make cornbread with the chili tonight so I came to allrecipes.com to find a recipe......and I found this one. Since it was the first time making it, I didn't change anything. The hubby said it could be sweeter. I eat mine with butter and honey so I didn't notice. Even the kids liked it. I loved how easy and quick it was to make....and in the microwave. I'd never heard of cornbread done in the microwave before. Mine took a total of six minutes to be completely done but even at that.....it's a heck of a lot shorter than in the oven! And great for a last minute add to dinner! You definitely have to try this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Berkey, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
this has a great texture and consistency! the flavor is that of plain cornbread...which it is! it "saved" our lunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
My husband said this is the best cornbread he's had in his life, and he's 60. He liked it because it was moist inside, but I found it to be firm as well. It didn't crumble to pieces when I split the slices to butter them. The only changes were that I used 3 Tbsp sugar due to previous reviewers advice, and 1/2 tsp salt because salt enhances other flavors. I used a 9" pie plate with a juice glass in the center to ensure against a soggy middle. I greased the cookware, added the batter, and cooked in a 1200 watt microwave for 3 & 1/2 minutes. I reheated it later for 30 seconds with no discernable change in quality.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mshcooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Dripping Springs, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
I'm sorry but we didn't care for this at all. It really did cook up in 3 minutes which was amazing!! But the texture didn't feel right to us and it probably could have used some more sugar (we tend to enjoy sweeter cornbread). I am glad I tried it though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Chase Simon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2010
Okay, I finally tried this and much to my surprise, it came out beautiful in 5 minutes and quite tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
For microwave anything, this was awesome. It does not have the texture of regular cornbread (well, my kinds) - very light and almost cake-like, not too much cornmeal, touch of sweetness. There is no browning or crust to speak of. It's very delicate and doesn't hold up well to being buttered. However, I thought it tasted great. It was warm and fresh and done in 4 minutes on high (800 watt oven). I made it because I forgot about the bread until I was serving, and because I'm cool like that I know I'll gratefully be making this again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by M. Stoffel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Allenton, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Germantown, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2010
great cornbread. I put butter on top of mine and I loved it. I Cannot wait to make this again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by parakiss

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2010
OMG...this is awesome. This is as good as my cornbread baked in the oven, if not better - really!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Schenectady, New York, USA
Living In: Troy, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
This was SHOCKINGLY good. I made it assuming I'd have to throw it out because I usually hate the microwave for anything but reheating leftovers, but really enjoyed it! I did adjust it a little - I added a handful of frozen corn to the mix, and after I microwaved it I put it under the broiler on high for a few minutes to get a nice brown crust on top. What a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Cornbread Cake

See how to make sweet, moist, and cakey cornbread.

Fluffy Gluten-Free Cornbread

Cornmeal, millet, and rice flours create a light, fluffy cornbread.

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States