5 Minute Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2013
These are delicious. I used chunky peanut butter for added texture, and then made them vegan. I would recommend using less sugar, they are way too sweet. I boiled the mixture for more then a minute, and then put that in the fridge for about 10 to 15 minutes, making it easier to roll into balls, and to not risk burning my hands. I didn't flatten them either, and stuck half in the freezer for a later date.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
This is great for a quick sugar quencher. I love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
Quick and gluten free (if you use gluten free oats)! My family loved these. I followed the recipe to the T, although next time I think I'll cut the sugar in half and maybe increase the coconut by a half cup for a personal adjustment of flavor. These looked way runny and I was concerned as others were, I doubt they would have made balls, but I used my dough scooper to put them onto a waxed sheet and didn't mash them down. Then I stuck half of them in the freezer because we wanted them sooner rather than later and half of them in the fridge. Both set very nicely...so even though they look runny, persevere...it's like buttercream frosting, you have to have a little faith. Thanks for the quick and easy recipe...it satisfied my coconut & chocolate craving and quickly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
Very nice. I cut the sugar by half and found these were just right for me. Also, didn't even bother with heating any of it - mixed all the ingrediants together saving the milk for last, and added just enough milk to bring the mixture together. Set just fine in the fridge and was delightful pre-fridge too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Thea Rae

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cookin Up A Storm
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
This is the same basic recipe as "No Bake" cookies with the addition of coconut. The flavor is good, but follwing these directions, you would never be able to roll them into a ball. The "dough" is much too wet for that. I think the sugar mixture should have cooked longer to stiffen these up a bit. Next time, I will leave the peanut butter out of the coconut/oat mixture and add it along with the vanilla to the cooked sugar/cocoa mixture (after letting it boil for a few minutes), then add that mixture to the oats. I think this will yield a firmer cookie that will set up better. I did this recipe as a part of the Western Region's Faceless Frenzy July 2012.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookin Up A Storm

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Fergus Falls, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Santa Cruz, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
I love these non-baked cookies. I used crunch peanut butter and I add 1/4 cup of peanuts chopped up after I measured them. Which my family liked better the second time I made them. My daughter was help make them the third time and she grabbed my German chocolate powder which got add before we notice what had happen and those turn out just as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rlt11_NMC

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
The taste was good. It would be nice if people on here remember that not every one who uses these recipes are proffesional bakers -(when they display the recipe). In this recipe when it says allow to cool that means put it in the fridge,it does not mean allow to sit out on the table and cool. --sorry to be a jerk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Marion, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2011
The secret to making these set up is not to boil them too long. The long 1 minute boil makes them gummy. I mix over a slow heat untilthe sugar is dissolved then bring it to a boil then IMMEDIATELY remove it as soon as it starts boiling... from the heat and spoon out on wax paper. We have been using this recipe for years and it is great. I also use 1 cup of pecan pieces too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2011
In order for these cookies to set up, do the following. Mix the oates and coconut in a bowl and set aside. Place sugar, cocoa powder,butter, peanut butter and milk(I like evap milk) into saucepan. Over medium heat cook and stir until smooth and liquid. Let it come to a boil, now here is the trick, let boil without stirring for 2 1/2 minutes. Remove from heat and add vanilla and oat mixture, then continue with recipe. Hope this helps those who have problems with this recipe setting up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terri

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2011
There is definately something wrong with this recipe. The proportions must not be right because it is far too runny to shape in to balls...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

No-Bake Cookies III

See how to make these peanut butter cocoa-flavored cookies.

No Bake Cookies I

These tasty no-bake cookies are made with oatmeal, peanut butter, and cocoa.

Oatmeal Raisin Cookies I

Make these classic cookies to sweeten any occasion.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States